The “S” Word

I’m a numbers person. Always have been. Changing my lifestyle 2+ years ago and losing 30 lbs made me a bit more of a numbers person, for better or worse. As for many people, the scale became my friend and my enemy, depending on the day. It’s really hard to keep yourself from getting caught up in all the hubbub of working out, eating healthy, losing weight, etc. Especially if you’re one to read many blogs, follow people on Instagram, or just plain read magazines.

There’s the comparison trap; feeling the need to eat “perfectly” day in and day out, make sure you log enough miles at the gym, or lift heavy enough weights just so you can look like that other person. That person who posts their breakfasts, lunches, and dinners to Instagram many days.. and then you think, “if they ate it, why can’t I?<– One of my favorite posts!

Food Trap Comparison

Right, Giselle? 😉

You know this feeling, right?

I’m not the only one that gets in these funks, right?

When I was packing up my apartment in Baltimore with my mom, we grabbed a box for the bathroom and she pointed to the scale and said “don’t forget that.” Done. Packed up. Didn’t even give it any thought. Until later that night when I realized I would be scale-less for at least 6 weeks. Make that closer to 9 weeks by the time we get our stuff in our apartment..

A bit of panic set in knowing that I wouldn’t be knowing for quite some time. The last time I was scale-less for an extended period of time was 2 weeks on my honeymoon.. and that didn’t end so pretty! I have to admit that most days, I don’t even give it any thought. But I definitely have my days where I think about what it will say when I finally do see it again. After 6 weeks of living in a hotel and flipping my life and routine upside down, it scares me.

Sure, I’m having a hell of a time exploring this new city I’m in. Nathan and I can’t call ourselves foodies if we don’t take advantage of all of the incredible cuisine there is to offer here! And I’ve shared all of the amazingly wonderful salads I’ve found, but in reality, hotel living is not the healthiest way to go. Especially on a budget.

Kevins Quinoa Kale Butternut Squash Bowl Evolution Fresh

Ohh, Evolution Fresh. I wish I could eat your salads everyday!

What I don’t show you is the glass of wine that I’ve become accustomed to every night. Or the oatmeal raisin cookies that they give out with dinner that sometimes I just can’t say no to. Or maybe having so many options for breakfast everyday that I end up taking “just a little extra” because I can’t decide. And while this may not sound like I’m overdoing it, I often feel that way. Maybe it’s when I’m homesick, maybe it’s when I’m tired, maybe I just get frustrated for no reason, but sometimes it just. Freaking. Sucks.

I know, in the long run, I won’t look back at my experiences and think “damn, I really wish I didn’t eat that extra cookie or have that extra beer.” But I do know that sometimes I get caught up in the moment. And sometimes that moment is with the scale. And sometimes that moment with the scale is total shit. And writing this right now, I’m scared to have that shit moment in the near future. But I also need to remind myself of this..

And I need to focus on getting caught up in these moments..

Pacifica Beach

3 Generations

Melissa Poppy Me

Grandpa

Wedding First Dance Barr & Table

Because those are the moments that really matter.

And to be completely honest, I saw this post going somewhere else. But I’m happy with the turn of events.

Food for Thought

What are your thoughts on the scale?

24 thoughts on “The “S” Word

  1. What a great post Brittany! I love that quote and that you are focusing more on the moments rather than the scale. I’ve dealt with many years of scale obsession and am happy to say that it no longer dictates my day or controls my life. Going through the Whole30 really helped me to focus more on the actual food I was eating and how it was making me feel rather than that silly number on my scale. Really that’s all it is right!?! A silly number 🙂 Thanks for the shout out, again!

    • It is such a silly number! I’m not sure if I’ll go back to weighing myself as I did before when I do get my scale back.. I’ll go day by day in the beginning. Always happy to share your posts, that’s definitely a big fave of mine!

  2. Great post-loving the change in direction you took! I had fairly major surgery on Nov 30 and had my husband hide our scale while I was recovering. I’m kind of scared to see it now but really, if I can’t allow myself to even have enough time “off” to let the stitches heal…what the hell does that say about me?

  3. I stopped weighing myself because I realized how insane I am to get caught up over the fluctuation within 5 pounds that just happens all the time!

  4. Good post. I actually haven’t weighed myself in over a month. At first I was scared to see the number creeping up, but now it’s kind of freeing. My clothes fit and frankly focusing on what I’m eating and balancing out all the beer and cookies with a quick run or some green smoothies makes me happier. I’ve even stopped wearing my HRM monitor which let’s be honest everyone wears for the calorie burn not to monitor their heart rate and fat burning zones. It’s freeing to stop looking at numbers.

  5. Pingback: Link Love #18: My Top 5 | Barr & Table

  6. I’m so proud of you for writing this! I literally smiled as I looked at the last set of pictures. Those moments are so very precious. I’m still proud of you for packing up the scale and still encourage you to give yourself a couple weeks in a real routine before stepping back on for the first time. But if your clothes are still fitting, why even need to step back on? Just something to think about 😉
    Also I beg to differ on the results post-honeymoon not being too pretty. You sure looked pretty to me!

  7. Beautiful and inspiring post, Brittany! I think your not crediting yourself enough for how well you’ve handles this-if you ever need any proof just look back over these posts (the weekend ones where I enviously live vicariously through you guys!) and the happiness associated with it. THAT cannot be defined by the scale. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Breaking Routine | Barr & Table

Leave a comment