Fudge Ems!

It’s certainly no secret that I’ve been loving my Vitamix. I’ve been searching for recipes to try and also trying to come up with fun little bites too. I’ve been craving little chocolatey bites at night these days, you know, to go with red wine, and I am always looking for ways to make something healthier.

At this point, I’m sure everyone has seen variations on black bean fudge or brownies so I tried my hand at my own variation and I love the way they came out! They’re creamy, chocolatey, and have a little crunch from the cacao nibs. And each square is only 69 calories.. it’s a win-win!

Fudge Ems!

Makes 18 squares

Fudge Ems!

Ingredients
– 1 can reduced sodium black beans; drained and rinsed
– 1/4 cup Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder
– 1/4 cup Peanut Butter & Co. Mighty Maple
– 1/4 cup maple syrup
– 2 tbsp coconut oil
– 2 tbsp brewed coffee [I used pumpkin coconut!]
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 – 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
– Pinch of salt
– 2 tbsp cacao nibs [Can substitute chocolate chips]

Directions
In a high-power blender or food processor, add everything except the cacao nibs. Blend until very smooth and scoop into a bowl. Stir in the cacao nibs until evenly distributed. Line a loaf pan with aluminum foil or parchment paper and pour the fudge mixture into the pan. Spread it out evenly and place in the freezer for 1-2 hours.

Remove the pan from the freezer and, using the foil or parchment paper, lift the fudge out of the pan. Cut into 18 equal squares and wrap individually in plastic wrap. Store in the freezer. Or eat all of them immediately.. your choice πŸ˜‰

Black Bean Fudge

Nutritional Information
Per square

69 Calories / 4g Fat / 2g Protein / 11g Carbs / 2g Fiber / 4g Sugar

Sprint 2 the Table

Food for Thought

Have you ever tried making sweets using beans?

27 thoughts on “Fudge Ems!

  1. I just whipped up a batch replacing half the cocoa powder with chocolate Perfect Fit to boost the protein. Turned out great! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #87: Intuitive-ish | Barr & Table

Leave a comment