Gimme All the Bars!

Not the alcohol kind.. the food kind. If you know me, you know I like my bars so when I got a package last week from the Vega team and couldn’t wait to try them out.

Vega Bar Family Shot

Look at all that chocolate! Yummmm. All of their bars are plant-based, gluten-free, and non-GMO. They sent over 2 flavors of each of their 4 types of bars:

First up, I tried the Chocolate Coconut protein bar.

Vega Protein Sport Chocolate Coconut Bar

I was pretty ravenous that day and with 15g protein, it was a great snack that really held me over till dinner. This bar has 250 calories and 19g sugar; when I’m looking for a snack, I typically try to stay between 150-250 calories and under 15g sugar, so this one was at the higher end. That said, it was delicious! Lots of coconut flavor and obviously, being that it is coated in chocolate, I didn’t miss that either.

Next, I tried the Chocolate Cherry Almond energy bar. I had a couple bites before my morning workout and it was again, really tasty!

Chocolate Coconut Almond VEGA Energy Sport Bar

The energy bars are a mixture of dried fruits, nuts, rice crisps, etc. I feel like the dates and other fruits are usually sweet enough for a bar so I don’t love the added agave syrup and coconut palm sugar, but it was tasty nonetheless. I loved the mini chocolate chips throughout!

Another winner, the Dark Chocolate, Mixed Nuts & Sea Salt snack bar was crispy, crunchy, chocolatey, and just a touch saltya pretty perfect combo, if you ask me.

Vega Snack Bar

While I really enjoyed this bar, I was disappointed that it only contains 4g protein. As with my ideal caloric value, I also like to have at least 10g protein in my snack bars; I feel like they have more staying power with a little more protein.

Finally, I dug into the Chocolate Cherry Almond one meal bar.

Vega Chocolate Cherry Almond One Bar

I liked the contrast in texture in this bar; the chewy top layer was a nice touch with the crunchiness of the crispies on the bottom. I’m not a huge fan of replacing my meals with bars, but I can see this being a good option if I’m on the run. I do, however try to get around 20g protein per meal and this bar has 12g, but in terms of the bar having 260 calories, I’d imagine this is a pretty good balance.

Overall, I could absolutely see myself buying both the energy and protein sport bars in the future and would recommend all of them. It all depends on what you’re looking for out of your bars, but they were all delish!

Vega Bar Blogger photo Badge_Vega200_zps53a557dd.png

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary shipment of Vega bars as a Sweat Pink Ambassador. All thoughts and opinions of the product are my own.

Food for Thought

Do you have any general requirements when you get bars?
Which bar sounds the best to you?

10 thoughts on “Gimme All the Bars!

  1. mmmm I too have been loving my bars & will be doing a recap soon. I’m with you on the low protein for Chocolate Cherry Almond! Thank goodness the rest of the nutritional #s made up for it!

  2. That last bar looks awesome esp the crunchies though 260 calories is a bit much for me for a bar! The chocolate coconut one looks amazing and I’m glad the coconut shined through. Too bad about the sea salt one not having much protein – I agree that’s not much – but it looks great.

Leave a Reply

