What I Ate Wednesday #84: Kitchen Wins

Yesterday was a really good day in the kitchen. Not too often do I dream up a couple of ideas and actually have them workout on the first try. I have an idea for a new smuice recipe to try out that I planned on testing yesterday, but for once, I actually wasn’t that hungry. Weird! That’s ok though, I had 2 successes and a third might have been pushing it.

Pre-Workout
Chocolate Coconut Almond VEGA Energy Sport Bar
I wasn’t overly hungry when I woke up but felt like I needed a little something in my stomach before my workout. A piece of the chocolate coconut almond VEGA bar hit the spot. It’s so good! And everyone likes chocolate in the morning, right? Right.

Breakfast
Peanut Butter Banana Protein Souffle Pancake
Peanut butter banana protein souffle pancake drizzled with freshly made coconut cashew butter. This recipe will be on the blog this week. I legitimately had to stop myself and slow down a few times because it was so good. I mean, yes, I was really hungry. But damn, this was good!

Lunch
Skinny Spinach Basil Pesto Zucchini Noodles Kabocha Squash
Zucchini noodles, kabocha squash, and baked sole with skinny spinach basil pesto. I was already going to skinny-down the pesto that we had in the fridge but when I opened it, I guess we’d had it for just a little too long.. whoops! This pesto came together perfectly and was so light and delicious. Another recipe that will be posted soon 🙂 Also pretty miraculous – this kabocha has lasted 3 days now! That just does not happen around here.

Snack
Goji Ginger Reeds Kombucha
Like I said, just really not that hungry but I was in the mood for something bubbly. Goji ginger might just be my favorite flavor of Reed’s. I also snuck a couple bites of pineapple. It’s so good right now.. super sweet!

Dinner
Los Moles Taco Tuesday
Los Moles Cucumber Margarita
Taco Tuesday at the Mexican joint around the corner = all you can eat tacos. You know I went back for seconds [and left stuffed]! The corn tortillas were homemade and the pollo al pastor and veggie tacos were legit. I also LOVED the grilled onions and roasted garlic. I’m pretty sure I ate an entire head of garlic. I also got really excited about the cucumber margarita and asked for light agave, but it ended up being pretty sweet anyway. Next time, I’ll stick to what I know; cucumber vodka + soda. That’s my jam.

Food for Thought

Do you ever have days where everything just seems to go right in the kitchen?
What’s your favorite pre-workout snack?

10 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #84: Kitchen Wins

  1. I often am “punished” for going outside my drink go-to (manhattan) and trying a creative drink, only to find it’s too sweet for me. But every now and then you get that gem of a drink you’re sooo glad you tried! At least you made an attempt. I tend to never get margs as they are always too sweet for me and also tequila makes me sick/sad – ha.
    I’m not much for pancakes but that banana protein one looks fab!

  2. Oooh can’t wait for that recipe! You tease you 😉 I love a couple of dates topped with nut butter pre-workout, but I do have to restrain myself to not eat several…

Leave a Reply

