Scenes From the Weekend and Meal Plan Updates

This whole weekly meal plan thing is fun! Ok, maybe I’m a little nuts, but what can I say? It’s been fun to actually try out some of the recipes I’ve been pinning. As suspected, I ended up planning on too much last week and had to adjust a bit, but before getting into that I have to share some weekend fun!

Friday night, we decided to hit the town for a quick happy hour and a movie. Not long after we moved out here, I found a LivingSocial deal for The New Parkway. Nathan convinced me to go with him to see The Hobbit and we finally got to use the deal. I love this movie theater! They have some pretty awesome looking food, drinks, and sitting on a love seat is so much more comfortable than normal seats!

The New Parkway Oakland California CA

My new favorite movie theater.. the love seat is the way to go!

Saturday morning, we went into San Francisco for the farmers’ market at the Ferry Building. We hadn’t been since we moved out here and we had to get Nathan a porchetta sandwich. While he ate his awesome pork, I opted for the spicy avocado veggie lettuce wrap from the vegan stand. Ha what a pair!

Alive Vegan Restaurant Ferry Building San Francisco Farmers Market

Spicy Avocado Veggie Wrap.. very tasty but I found myself hungry after about an hour.

RoliRoti Porchetta Sandwich San Francisco

Porchetta sandwich with crispy crunchies!

After the market, we decided to go get some of our favorite bread and take a hike up the hundreds of stairs to Coit Tower. We did it, I just don’t have photographic evidence.. but I swear it happened! And as always, it isn’t a trip for us if we don’t stop for a beer. Mikkeller has some pretty wonderful beer and it was the perfect refreshment after our hike šŸ˜‰

Mikkeller Brewery

On the right is my Santa’s Little Helper and Nathan had Anchorage Galaxy White IPA.

Finally it was time for lunch. We decided on HRD Coffee Shop which isn’t actually a coffee shop, but an incredible Asian fusion dive. We went on our vacation in May 2012 and it was such a great experience and the food was so good, we were psyched to go back!

Mongolian Beef Cheesesteak HRD Coffee Shop

Nathan’s Mongolian Beef Cheesesteak

Bulgogi Korean BBQ Rice Bowl HRD Coffee Shop

My Bulgogi Rice Bowl.. I housed that baby!

Not only was the food as amazing as we remembered, the owner, David, remembered us! He sat down and talked with us for a few minutes even though they were mobbed; it’s that kind of experience that will keep us coming back time and again. Not to mention we have to try more food šŸ˜‰

Meal Planning

Our favorite meal of the week?

Half Baked Harvest Jerk Chicken Fried Plantains Coconut Quinoa Macadamia Nuts

Jamaican jerk chicken, fried plantain, & coconut fried quinoa with macadamia nuts.
– Half Baked Harvest

We ended up having the leftover pretzel crusted chicken for dinner on Saturday and made the cauliflower pizza crust for dinner last night. So good!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Cheesed up a ready to go!

Cauliflower Pizza Crust Homemade Sauce

And topped with Nathan’s homemade pizza sauce.

MondayThai Chicken Quinoa Bowl [using leftover rotisserie chicken]
TuesdayPaleo Spaghetti Squash Casserole
WednesdayHealthier Crockpot Butter Chicken with Homemade Naan
Thursday – Mango Beef Stir-Fry [using leftover ginger orange beef]
Friday – Going out!

I think this week will be better in the leftovers department and I’m always happy to use up the rest of our leftovers for something new. I’m especially looking forward to trying the spaghetti squash casserole that everyone has been raving about and I know Nathan is psyched for the homemade naan.. oh and the butter chicken šŸ˜‰ If you’re looking for help with weekly meal plans, send me an email!

Food for Thought

Have you ever been to a movie theater like The New Parkway?
What’s your go-to recipe for a quick, healthy meal during the week?

17 thoughts on “Scenes From the Weekend and Meal Plan Updates

  1. What a fun movie theater!! I don’t know if we have anything like that in Dallas. That portobello sandwich looks amazing!! I’ve been wanting to cook them for some time now, maybe I should get on it.

    Thanks for the link love! Have a fab day!

  2. That movie theater looks SO freaking cool. I’ve never seen one like that before! The wrap looks delish but bummer that it was so unsatisfying. I love the classy glasses your beer came in and your meal at the Asian place looks TDF. Egg please! How nice that the owner remembered you.

  3. I’m such a big fan of the Ferry Building. They’re trying to build something like that near me! šŸ™‚

    And I need to make cauliflower pizza!

  4. I made the Paleo Spaghetti Pizza Pie thing, but I used ground turkey instead of sausage for a bit lighter fare. It was deliicious! I also added cheese, mushrooms and zucchini. I made enough that it lasted for two casseroles, so I froze one for another time.

Leave a comment