Foodie Friday: Baby Shower Biscotti

Today is a big day and I can’t believe it’s already here. It’s my last day of work before the big move. In fact, it’s my last day at a full-time job for an indefinite amount of time. It’s really crazy to think about it like that, but I’m really excited to have the option to explore new options when we move! [Know about any fun jobs in San Francisco?!]

Seriously, I can’t believe we’re moving in a week! Here comes the excitement/stress/anxiety.. take your pick haha. I really am excited though; this is an entirely new world of experiences and opportunities and I can’t wait to start exploring. I also can’t wait to share all of my new food experiences with you! There will be many.

Speaking of food, last week I shared some of my pictures of the food I made for my sister-in-law’s baby shower and today I’m going to start breaking out the recipes! Remember these bad boys?

Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodle Biscotti

Mexican Chocolate Biscotti & Snickerdoodle Biscotti

Yea, they were pretty delicious. They were also pretty easy to make too! The Mexican Chocolate Biscotti recipe is straight from Martha Stewart. I swapped out half of the sugar for xylitol and because I was making mini biscotti, I halved the recipe and made 2 smaller loaves. They were a big hit! As were the snickerdoodle biscotti..

Mini Snickerdoodle Biscotti

Makes 24-26 Mini Biscotti

Ingredients
– 1 large egg
– 1/4 cup sugar + more for sprinkling
– 1/4 cup xylitol* [or more sugar]
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 cup pumpkin puree [not pumpkin pie filling!]
– 1 tsp cinnamon + more for sprinkling [this Ceylon Cinnamon is my new fave]
– 1/8 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
– 1/4 cup pecans; toasted
– 4 oz white chocolate
– 1/8 cup half & half

*You can find xylitol on iHerb.com. Use code ZAF482 to receive $5-$10 off of your first order.

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.

In a medium bowl, beat with a whisk the egg, sugar, xylitol, and baking powder together until the mixture turns a pale yellow. Add pumpkin puree, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla. Continue to whisk and aerate the mixture. Next, fold in the flour. Once that is incorporated, fold in the toasted pecans.

Shape the dough into 2 flat logs about 3″ x 8″. Sprinkle each side of the logs with cinnamon and sugar. Bake about 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let cool on a cooling rack for 15-20 minutes.

Slice into 1/2″ slices and place back on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with more cinnamon and sugar and bake for another 20-30 minutes, flipping half way through. Remove from the oven and let cool completely on a cooling rack.

Finally, melt the white chocolate with the half & half and drizzle on the biscotti. Sprinkle with a little bit more cinnamon and sugar and let that set before serving.

Enjoy!

Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodle Biscotti Setup

Mexican Chocolate Biscotti & Snickerdoodle Biscotti

These biscotti are not too sweet and I found are the perfect accompaniment to a hot cup of coffee. Because everyone needs a little something sweet in the morning, right? 😉

Nutritional Information

Per biscotti

59 Calories  /  2g Fat  /  12g Carbs  /  1g Fiber  /  4g Sugar  /  2g Protein

Food for Thought

Are you a crispy or chewy cookie kind of person?
I’m 100% chewy but if I have a cup of coffee or milk for dipping, I’ll go crispy 🙂

17 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Baby Shower Biscotti

  1. Oooooh I have never made Biscotti…..maybe that is something to give a try! Especially now I am going with my home roots (English) and starting to drink more tea, they would be the perfect biscuit to dunk in it 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! Glad you had fun at the baby shower!

    Oh, and I am definitely a chewy cookie 🙂

  2. not too sweet eh? 😉
    i’m so glad that you are remembering that this move is an adventure, not just a source of stress. try to lose yourself in each exciting moment!

  3. Pingback: 6 Whole Grain Baking Tips - Little Chef Big Appetite

Leave a comment