Holiday Confessions Of A Personal Trainer [Guest Post]

Hi friends! As you know, I’m in the middle of my big move to California and to say the past couple weeks have been nuts would be an understatement! I’ll be back to my regular blogging schedule soon, but in the mean time, I have a couple fabulous guest bloggers to keep you entertained. Today’s post is from Taylor at Lifting Revolution. I recently discovered her blog and absolutely love it! One of my favorite types of posts she does are her “Confessions” [did you know that trainers are real people too?!] and with Thanksgiving tomorrow, I thought this would be a great post to share!


I want to thank Brittany for asking me to visit Barr & Table while she is up to her elbows in boxes! I love reading the blog so it’s pretty awesome to be here today!

Taylor Lifting Revolution Gingerbread Outfit

Brittany asked if I would come and reveal my inner most secrets with you, and since that’s what I do a lot of over at LiftingRevolution, I decided to jump at the opportunity.

I think it is important as a healthy living blogger and a personal trainer to reveal these secrets to everyone since most people see just glimpses into the lives of fitness bloggers. Yes, I workout a lot but there’s a lot more to me than squats and kale… you just wait.

I never ever ever want anyone to think that any of us crazy fitness bloggers have it all together, we don’t. We struggle with getting to the gym just like you. And just like you, I cheat a little too much during the holidays.

Which brings me to my confessions today…

Holiday Confessions Of A Personal Trainer

1 – I lie to friends and family about food.

For whatever reason my family and many of my friends, have this scary idea in their heads about healthy eating. And really scary ideas about vegan food. So when the holidays role around, I lie and tell them it’s “real food” so they’ll eat it. Sometimes I’ll let them in on the secret after they’ve clearly enjoyed a few bites, and sometimes I just follow the idea of what they don’t know won’t hurt them.

Healthy food can taste great, I promise!!

2 – I refuse to accept my mom’s homemade fudge.

Truffles

My mom makes the best fudge. It was actually my grandfather’s recipe and she has carried on the tradition since he passed away. It is seriously amazing, like melt in your mouth chocolatey goodness. To really paint the picture… it’s not vegan and I am. That tiny detail doesn’t stop me.

And that’s why I have never accepted her small tin package of it. I can’t control myself. That fudge wouldn’t last 5 seconds in my home. So instead, I indulge when I visit with them and then walk away dreaming of crazy binge that would happen.

Sometimes sacrifices have to be made to remain in control. No one wants to see a 29 year old woman with fudge smeared all over her face and growling if someone tries to snag a piece.

3 – I will never run a Turkey Day Run.

The Charleston Turkey Day Run is one of the biggest 5K races we have in Charleston. It sounds like a blast… people dressed like turkeys, free beer at the finish, and a great way to burn off some calories before digging into the feast later that day.

But I’ll never do it. Instead you’ll find me being lazy with my husband on Thanksgiving morning… drinking mimosas and watching my favorite Christmas movie. This has been a tradition for at least 5 years now, and I’m not willing to give it up to burn off 300 calories for a 1500 calorie dinner.

4 – I tried to workout on Christmas once and failed.

I love the idea of waking up on Christmas, opening the gifts, and then getting a quick run in before the rest of the day gets hectic.

But just because I love the idea, doesn’t mean I follow through. I tried to do this once. I got dressed up in a new fitness outfit I had received that morning, put on my shoes and started to run. Then about 60 seconds later, I thought about my family inside talking together and doing, you know, family things… so I turned around and went back inside.

Some days family outweighs a workout and Christmas (and Thanksgiving) is one of them!

5 – I package baked goods up the second they’re done.

Sugar Cuffins

I love giving baked goods as gifts, but sometimes like the fudge, it can be hard to keep around. My trick? As soon as the goodies are done, they get packaged and wrapped ASAP. I’ll keep 1-2 out for Dan (my hubs) and I to enjoy but otherwise everything else is ready to go to the recipient. Just another step I take to practice self control.

Oh, I also wash my mixing bowls .2 seconds after I’ve poured the mix in the baking pans. Why? So I don’t sit there and lick all the bowls clean with my finger! It can be quite embarrassing to have your husband walk in while you’re literally licking a cake bowl… not that this has happened before. 😉

Your turn, what holiday confessions can you share?

I’ll be sharing more of mine over at my blog, LiftingRevolution.com as we get more into the holiday season. So come on over and say hey!

Thanks again Brittany for letting me come get a few things off my chest! I feel so much better!


Thank you so much, Taylor! I hope everyone enjoyed this post as much as I did. And happy Thanksgiving!

Food for Thought

What are your holiday confessions?

8 thoughts on “Holiday Confessions Of A Personal Trainer [Guest Post]

  1. Great post! I love getting insights into what’s worth it (and not) to some people. I love Turkey Trots, so that’s totally worth it, and I think that the fudge sounds pretty worth it, too :). Here’s my confession: my mother-in-law makes a cheesy, bacon-y quiche on Thanksgiving morning that I really don’t enjoy at all, so I ate breakfast before it was ready just so I would have an excuse not to eat it! Don’t worry, I loaded up on things that I DO enjoy for Thanksgiving dinner!

  2. I think this is a great post because it shows the “human” sides of a trainer and also the sides that don’t find limiting sweets/treats to be easy. Sometimes you just have to say NO because you can’t have the fudge in the house. That doesn’t mean you’re trying to deprive yourself, it just means you know your habits around it, so you enjoy it when you’re not at home. And that’s okay! It takes a long time of trial and error to get to that point but you’re there and that’s pretty impressive because it shows you know yourself. And you’re able to be comfortable with spending your holidays without exercise – that’s admirable! It shows you can value your family over exercise and know the true value of time with them on holidays.

  3. Pingback: Confessions of A Personal Trainer: Holiday Edition

  4. Pingback: I’m grateful for… | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

