Full Body Resistance Band Workout + Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake

It’s Friday! And it’s ALCS game 1 day! It’s unfortunate that I’m not at all excited about the Orioles 😉

Yesterday was a fun one. It started out slowly [no complaints here!]; I took my time getting ready for the gym, only to decide to pack it in after 20 minutes on the elliptical. I was just not feeling it so I went home and snuggled up with a bowl of oatmeal on the couch. It was a good trade, I’d say. I also had lunch with this gal..

Danica It's Progression

If you don’t know Danica, get with it! She just moved to the bay area a few weeks ago and it was great to finally meet in person. Hooray for transplants! Haha 🙂

Onto the big Friday fun.. Usually I’ll stick with Fitness Friday or Foodie Friday but since I have a couple goodies for you, I decided to pack it all into one post. Boom!

I put this workout together for my client today; one of my biggest challenges with her is creating lots of workouts that she can do at home with little or no equipment. Because I’m a big fan of using weights in a gym, rather than doing body weight workouts at home, this is a bit out of the norm for me. That said, I’m really happy to have this workout now because not only is it great for small spaces [hellooo watching the O’s game in my tiny apartment!], but it’ll be a great workout for when we head home next month too. Pack your bags and get to sweatin’!

Full Body Resistance Band Workout | Barr & Table

Start out with the push ups and make your way around the circle doing 12-15 reps per exercise. Once you get back to the push ups, do a round of the cardio burst. Complete 3 rounds total for a 30-40 minute heart-pounding, sweaty workout.

If the resistance band isn’t feeling quite tough enough for you, there are a couple of options to make it more difficult. First, you can cross the bands in front of you so they make an “X”. If you still want more resistance, step your feet apart a bit. Make sure you feel the burn!

And if you’re hungry after that workout [which you will be!], make yourself a little snack.

Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake

Serves 1

Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake | Barr & Table

Ingredients
– 2 tbsp vanilla protein powder [I used Vega Vanilla Performance Protein]
– 2 tbsp pumpkin spice peanut flour [I used MyOatmeal PB Lean but you can sub regular peanut flour]
– 2 egg whites
– 2 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond milk
– 1 tbsp canned pumpkin [Not pumpkin pie filling!]
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
– Pinch of salt

Directions
Spray a microwave safe mug with cooking spray. Mix all of your ingredients together and microwave for 2 – 2 1/2 minutes, until the cake is just set. Top with your favorite toppings [like nut butters] and enjoy!

Nutritional Information
Per mug cake, without toppings

169 Calories  /  1g Fat  /  11g Carbs  /  1g Fiber  /  8g Sugar  /  24g Protein

Now that I’ve jam-packed some sweat and tasty treats for ya, get your booty movin’ and enjoy your weekend!

Sprint 2 the Table

Food for Thought

Do you prefer body weight workouts or sweating it out with some weights?
Any fun plans for the weekend?

30 thoughts on “Full Body Resistance Band Workout + Pumpkin Protein Mug Cake

  1. I have a resistance band but rarely use it – I’ll definitely have to try this workout with it, especially since I can do it in my little apartment space too 🙂

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #106: The Unpictured | Barr & Table

  3. Pingback: Link Love #1

Leave a Reply

