Spiralized Cinnamon Apple Chips {Recipe Redux}

Hi friends, happy Monday! I think I’m more ok with Monday since we had such a great weekend! To be honest, we’ve hardly been doing anything exciting on the weekends recently so it was nice to shake it up a bit. Friday night we stayed close to home but had a nice little treat.

Bear Republic Racer 5 IPA Whiskey

My new fave – Bear Republic Racer 5 with a shot of rye

Perdition Smokehouse Chicken Ribs Broccoli Coleslaw Pickles

Our second trip to Perdition.. such amazing bbq!

Perdition Smokehouse Peach Pie

Peach pie is the best way to finish a bbq dinner.

I worked Saturday morning and then we had a late lunch at Elmwood Cafe.

Elmwood Cafe Greek Salad Latte

Love the huge lattes and spiced chicken!

Yesterday was my fave. Nathan texted me while I was at the gym to let me know he had a fun day planned; I couldn’t finish my workout quickly enough and once we breakfasted and got ready, we made our way out to Wente Vineyards. It was such a beautiful day and let’s be honest, wine tasting and a picnic is always a good idea!

Nathan Wente Vineyards

My handsome date.

Part of our picnic included a sweet, crunchy treat that I made the other day.. and I’m surprised they lasted as long as they did here! This month’s Recipe Redux gave me the perfect excuse to do something different with my daily apple.

Whether it’s extra garden bounty or a sale at the supermarket – dehydrating food is a budget-friendly way to stock up for later. You can use a food dehydrator, a low slow oven, or natural sunshine to preserve natural healthfulness. Show us how you like to dehydrate, or a healthy recipe for how you enjoy using dehydrated fruits, veggies or other bounty.

Spiralized Cinnamon Apple Chips

Spiralized Cinnamon Apple Chips Barr & Table

Ingredients
– 2 large apples [I used fuji but you can use your favorite]
– Coconut oil cooking spray [can sub another lightly flavored cooking spray]
– 1/2 – 1 tbsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp salt

Directions
Preheat your oven to 250°F. Using the B blade on the Paderno, spiralize your apples. Toss the apples with the coconut oil spray, cinnamon, and salt on a lined cookie sheet and place in the oven. Bake your apples for about 2 hours, tossing occasionally, until crispy. Remove from the oven, let cool completely, and store in an airtight container.. or eat all of them off the cookie sheet!

These little chips are a little time consuming but so worth the patience and a great work around if you don’t have a dehydrator. Hope you enjoy the crunchies!

Food for Thought

Did you do anything fun over the weekend?
Have you ever tried dehydrating in the oven?

52 thoughts on “Spiralized Cinnamon Apple Chips {Recipe Redux}

  1. Pingback: Link Love #53 | Barr & Table

  2. Pingback: 50 Real Food Fall Recipes - Taste of Divine

  3. Pingback: Pin It Party #5 | Barr & Table

  4. Pingback: Best Vegetti Recipes - Fruity Living

Leave a comment