Winning Weather

Hi friends, happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend. We were out and about quite a bit and we had great weather for it!

Friday night we went out for some brewskies [maybe some truffle parmesan fries] and an awesome yakitori dinner at Ippuku. The place was so unique; we had our own little table with a bamboo shade. The other, larger tables were more traditional and you have to take your shoes off to sit there.

Ippuku Berkeley California

Our own little nook.

I plan on recapping the meal on Wednesday but we definitely plan on going back again to try more.

On Saturday, we went to Tender Greens for lunch. It was awesome!

Roasted Monterey Squid Salad Tender Greens

Roasted Monterey Squid Salad

I love getting seafood when we go out because I rarely cook it at home and this squid was cooked perfectly. Nice and tender, not at all chewy. I also got a side of roasted veggies. Another place we need to hit up again! After lunch we made our way over to The Trappist for Spontanfest. We can’t pass up a good beer event 😉

Yesterday was extra fun; we went to our first baseball game of the season! The weather couldn’t have been better and it was so great to spend hours in the sunshine.

Oakland Coliseum

Not a bad view!

Oakland Athletics

This isn’t so bad either 😉

It was a good game. We saw 3 home runs and an A’s win. Jim Johnson also closed the game for the A’s so it was nice to have a touch of home [he was an Orioles closer for years if you didn’t know.] I also brought a nice big salad for lunch and I’m so glad I did. The food options there were pretty.. not great. And we only shared 1 beer because holy crap they were $11! You live and learn.. and pregame in the parking lot before the next game. Ha!

After a fun weekend, it was nice to come home and have a delicious, light dinner.

Joy the Baker Baked Turkey Meatballs Spiralized Zucchini Carrot Noodles

Baked turkey meatballs are a fave in our house.

Weekly Meal Plan

SundayBaked turkey meatballs over spiralized zucchini and carrot noodles
MondayVietnamese pork bowl
Tuesday – Cajun chicken with plantain “rice” and beans
Wednesday – Leftovers
Thursday – Roast duck sausage with roasted brussels and smashed potatoes
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers

If you’re looking for any help creating a meal plan, shoot me an email!

Food for Thought

What did you do over the weekend?

15 thoughts on “Winning Weather

  1. Zucchini noodles & meatballs sounds divine.

    My weekend wasn’t quite as exciting but I did manage to FINALLY tackle some spring cleaning: going through my clothes and taking bags upon bags to Goodwill. Felt great to get organized!

    Now if only some of your perfect weather could make it out here to the East Coast….

  2. Ugh, arent beer prices ridiculous at ball parks? I wish I could say Joshua and I were smart like you & your man with splitting a beer, but unfortunately we usually indulge @ games :-X Ha Ha.

    Squid salad? Eh, idk how I’d feel about that. I’ve never had squid before, does it have a distinct taste? Fill me in, girl.

    • I think we indulged enough on Friday and Saturday which is why we were ok splitting at the game 😉

      You normally see fried squid which honestly, don’t have much of a distinct flavor at all.. just crunchy fried! I much prefer roasted or grilled.. it has a very light flavor but will pretty much take on the flavor of what it’s in. The only problem is it can get very chewy if it’s cooked too long. I’d say give it a go!

  3. Looks like a beautiful day for a baseball game! And lots of yummy eats, as usual. Thanks for linking up!

Leave a comment