What I Ate Wednesday #30: Changing It Up

It may have been an icky, drizzly day, but I thought Sunday was wonderful. Maybe it had something to do with the gross weather and wanting to relax hibernate. Maybe it had something to do with the amazing Ravens victory that occurred on Saturday. Seriously, did you see that game?! Whatever it was, it was refreshing and much-needed.

These are the kind of days that I enjoy some nice, comforting meals. It was nice to change it up a bit.

Barr & Table What I Ate Wednesday WIAW Peas and Crayons Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurt Toasted Coconut Overnight Oats Portabello Iowa Girl Eats Thai Turkey Burger

[Breakfast]
Toasted coconut overnight oats. All I can say right now is YUM! If I had to trade the sweet breakfast scramble for anything, this would be it! And I’ll be sharing the recipe on Friday. Just you wait!

[Lunch]
We ventured out in the drizzles down the street to a little local bar called Porters. We’ve been there a few times before but it’s been a good 7 or 8 months since we’ve been. Every time before I’ve gotten the salmon sandwich but I decided to be adventurous and try the portabella mushroom sandwich with grilled red peppers, mozzarella, fresh basil, and homemade scallion aioli. Let’s just say we’ll be heading back there soon!

[Dinner]
Pinterest is my best friend. Especially when I get something that isn’t chicken breast. Last week I came across Mini Mediterranean Turkey Meatloaves from Iowa Girl Eats. But knowing that Nathan and I rarely like to make an entire pound’s worth of the same burger or, in this case, meatloaf, I recalled having pinned Thai Turkey Burgers, also from Iowa Girl Eats.

Well thank goodness for that! I turned the burgers into mini meatloaves and we had a few flavors to choose from. We both chose the Thai meatloaves for dinner on Sunday and Nathan whipped up a broccoli pineapple slaw to top. And I, of course, roasted some broccoli. Because how I could have dinner without roasted broccoli or brussel sprouts?! Exactly. I can’t.

Sunday’s meals weren’t too far out of the ordinary, but just enough to make it feel like I was treating myself. And I have been happily able to treat myself to mini meatloaves all week!

Food for Thought

Are you a creature of habit when it comes to your meals or do you prefer to change it up day by day?

11 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #30: Changing It Up

  1. Those meatloafs looks good and are so cute! I wonder if I could use meatless crumbles in place of the meat..hmm?
    And I am SO a creature of habit. I have to force myself to try new recipes all the time..

    • Ooh that sounds like such a good idea.. let me know if you try the meatless crumbles!

      I’m almost always open to new lunch/dinner recipes, it’s just breakfast I get stuck on. Love my peanut butter 🙂

  2. I’m with the above comment. I can hardly wait for the recipe come Friday =)… actually, I lie.. it will be very hard to wait!

    • Agreed with changing the staples, but I haven’t been able to really kick my breakfast scramble habit! Haha I think I’m going to have to go for the overnight oats again soon 😉

  3. I can’t eat the exact same thing everyday, but for me it’s enough to just change up the fruit I would use for breakfast, or the kind of meat that I use for lunch. So… sort of a creature of habit? Lol.

Leave a comment