What I Ate Wednesday #122: The ‘V’ Word

A few days ago, I started a little experiment. I’m currently working with the nutritionist at Truve, Cyrus Khambatta, on testing a different kind of diet. So if I’m going to do it, why not go balls to the wall? We’re talking 2 weeks vegan. And not only that, but Cyrus is a big proponent of a 70/15/15 diet. Yup, 70% carbs. Fruit and veggie carbs, though, not grains. This is a really drastic change in my diet and I’m finding it very interesting to see the way my body is reacting to it. I’m only on day 4 right now, but I’m looking forward to doing a full update at the end. For now, this is how some of my meals and snacks have been looking.

Peas & Crayons What I Ate Wednesday WIAW

[Breakfast]

Banana Mango Papaya Chia Seeds Coffee Silk Cashew Milk

2 bananas, 1 mango, 1/2 papaya, cinnamon, & 2 tbsp chia seeds soaked in cashew milk

Bananas Strawberries Raisins Chia Seeds

2 bananas, 10 strawberries, 2 handfuls of raisins, and 2 tbsp chia seeds soaked in cashew milk

That’s a lot of fruit! Breakfast is, of course, my favorite meal of the day and while I’m missing my oats and melty peanut butter, these breakfasts have been delicious and surprisingly have held me over for 3-4.5 hours.

[Lunch]

Mediterranean Sweet Potato Olive Onion Bake

Sweet potatoes baked with olives, sun dried tomatoes, and onion

Kabocha Squash Fennel

Roasted kabocha squash and fennel

Anyone that tells me to eat a huge plate of sweet potatoes or kabocha is good in my book!

[Dinner]

Mushrooms Bell Pepper Onion

Mushrooms, bell pepper, and onion

Mushrooms Snow Peas Tomatoes

Mushrooms, snow peas, and tomato

Dinner has admittedly been my least favorite meal. It’s usually at this point that I feel like I’d like to sneak a couple bites of Nathan’s chicken. Or have some kind of sauce to make it all more exciting. I know typically if I were just doing vegan on my own, I could play with flavors a bit more but because I’m trying to really follow Cyrus’ plan, I’m sticking with his recipes.

[Snacks]

Gingerbread Larabar

Perfect because it’s just dates, nuts, and spices!

Holy moly. Those Blissful Eats bites are some of my new favorite snacks! I was lucky enough to win some samples but I have a feeling I’ll definitely be buying more in the [very near] future!

Also unpictured snacks have been chia pudding, apples, olives, and leftover kabocha squash.

Overall Feelings
So far, I feel like I’ve had ups and downs of feeling super full [hellooo kabocha!] and feeling downright ravenous. I’ve also noticed my energy levels being a bit low over the past couple of days. I’m interested to see if that turns around and if my body adjusts. I’m also curious to see if there are any changes in my body, though 2 weeks isn’t too long to see those changes.

It’s definitely an interesting experience thus far and I’m looking forward to seeing how the next week and a half goes, as well as if it changes my diet in the future.

Food for Thought

Have you ever tried eating vegan?
What are your thoughts on the 70/15/15 macro breakdown?

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #122: The ‘V’ Word

  1. I think it’s very neat that you’ve decided to experiment with a new diet. I’m looking forward to seeing the final results in two weeks. I’ve never gone on a all vegan diet before, but I have heard it can be quite hard at first. Good luck girl!

  2. Sounds like an interesting experiment.
    I was vegetarian for a while, and then vegan for a bit, but I the more I learned about true health and nutrition, the more I realized that while I thought I was doing something good for my body, I was actually damaging my organs, muscles, and hormones – not good things! I think it’s good for people to experiment a bit with different ways of eating, my advice is just to be careful about the information you hear/read and become informed yourself by health experts, clinical studies, history, etc.

    • It’s certainly a learning experience but I love that now I’ll be able to talk more to clients about it in the future having had these experiences. That said, I’m definitely a meat-eater!

  3. Interesting! Even if you don’t end up staying vegan, I think trying new ways of eating always gives you good ideas for new meals to enter into your usual rotation of dishes. I love squash and sweet potato, but I never think to eat it as a meal like this! I think the 70/15/15 thing would take some getting used to. I’m sure it works for some people’s bodies – I know through trial and error that I respond well to a fairly high carb diet, but I need more than 15/15 protein and fat, for sure.

  4. So curious how this is going to go for you! As you may now, I’m vegan and have been for over 2 years, but I’ve only been high carb for about 1 year and tried many different things. I’ve tried 80/10/10, 90/5/5, and am now experimenting with something closer to 65/20/15, which is feeling awesome to me. Can’t wait to keep reading your journey!

  5. I think its great to experiment and I hope that you can find a balance with it because I will say that I don’t believe you can ever really be full with such little protein and fats. I’m interested to see how it goes, but just be careful. Vegetables can be great sources of carbs, but they will not keep your energy for very long and you’re leaving yourself open for many vitamin and mineral deficiencies, let alone, amino acid (for tissue and muscle growth and repair, especially for exercising) losses. For myself, who is a small female bodybuilder, I strive on lots of carbs and protein and moderate fats. I personally cannot imagine not having proteins as they are my favourite part of a meal, with squash coming in as a close second. I will also say that as much as I would want to eat that many veggies, my stomach would definietely rebel and I would never be able to get the calories that I needed to maintain my weight, let alone build muscle.

    Please don’t take my comment as me being judgemental or being all negative, it’s just my thoughts and how I would respond to this. As I said, I’m interested to see how you feel while doing this and how lil adjustments can help balance your energy a bit more.

Leave a Reply

