Foodie Friday: Protein Peanut Butter Cups with TastyWHEY

A few weeks ago I received an awesome shipment from Adaptogen. They must know me because I didn’t even choose my protein powder flavor and they sent me Chocolate Peanut Butter. How perfect!

I’m always on the lookout for a delicious protein powder that’s good, not only mixed in a smoothie, but simply mixed with water or almond milk too. The name, TastyWHEY, hinted that it would be meeting my requirements and I couldn’t wait to give it a try. Ironically enough, I had an afternoon workout planned that day, as opposed to my normal morning routine, so I scooped it into my new blender bottle immediately after with some coconut almond milk. It was so creamy and tasted like a peanut butter cup! It was nice and smooth too; there’s nothing worse than a gritty protein shake, am I right?

At 160 calories per scoop, this protein powder is a bit higher than what I normally use but the ingredients more than make up for it. TastyWHEY uses a proprietary combination of exceptionally high quality whey protein, along with MCT’s [want to learn more about MCT oil?], low glycemic index carbohydrates, and micronutrients that make the awesome taste that much better. Knowing that what I’m eating or drinking is made from high-quality ingredients has become so much more important to me in the past few years. There’s no doubt that the quality of ingredients has greatly impacted my health and the way I feel on a daily basis.

Back to the taste, though. I couldn’t help but make myself some peanut butter cups. It only seemed appropriate with the flavor I received!

Protein Peanut Butter Cups

Makes 3 Cups

Ingredients
– 1 tbsp coconut oil
– 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
– 1 tbsp Adaptogen TastyWHEY Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Powder
– 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
– 1 1/2 tsp peanut butter; divided

Directions
In a small bowl, microwave the coconut oil and maple syrup for 15-20 seconds until liquid. Mix in the protein powder and cocoa powder until smooth. Spoon 1 tsp of the mixture into 3 mini cupcake tins and place in the freezer for 5 minutes until hard.

Once the chocolate mixture has hardened, spoon 1/2 tsp of peanut butter to the center of each cup and cover with the remainder of the chocolate mixture. Place the cups back in the freezer to set. Once set, carefully remove from the cupcake tin with a knife and devour. Or store in the freezer.. your choice 😉

Nutritional Information
Per cup
81 Calories / 6g Fat / 4g Carbs / 1g Fiber / 3g Sugar / 2g Protein

Need Some TastyWHEY?

Of course you do! Purchase your own tub o’ protein or connect with Adaptogen!

Adaptogen TastyWHEY – http://adaptogenscience.com/tasty-whey
Adaptogen on Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Adaptogen-Science/pages/default
Adaptogen on Instagram – http://instagram.com/adaptogenscience

Food for Thought

What’s your favorite way to use protein powder?

This post is sponsored by FitFluential on behalf of Adaptogen Science.

var ts=document.getElementById(‘ti-pixel-tracker’); var ti=document.createElement(“img”); ti.style.display=”none”; ti.src=”https://tracking.tapinfluence.com/trk/F9FSN/iwmXt/p.png?p=62ZN6″ + String.fromCharCode(38) + “i=6moWX” + String.fromCharCode(38) + “s=” + encodeURIComponent(document.referrer); ts.parentNode.replaceChild(ti,ts); JSON.stringify({“program_id”:”a7809e42-7983-11e4-82a8-22000afd2dc7″,”post_id”:”3abe66f2-9ab9-11e4-8536-22000afd2dc7″});

14 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Protein Peanut Butter Cups with TastyWHEY

Leave a Reply

