What I Ate Wednesday #117: Reset

I know, I know. I’ve been talking a lot over the past few weeks about getting back to normal, cutting out the extra snackage, etc. Well, some of that went down the tubes when I got sick. A kale salad just didn’t really appeal like a cheesy egg bagel sandwich. Can ya blame me?

This week, in honor of the new year [I guess?], I’m really making a strong effort to get my meals and workouts back on track. And even more, changing it up a little. I haven’t had oatmeal since Saturday. That’s just plain crazy talk! I do believe, however, that just like it’s important to change up your workouts to keep your body guessing, it’s important to change up your diet too. The body adapts, people. It’s true.

I got up Monday morning and hit the gym to get in my 30 minutes; I had big plans for my workout but also knew that I’d have to listen to my body. A week out of the gym and still not feeling 100% led to a workout cut short, but I was happy to get my sweat on as much as I did!

Peas & Crayons What I Ate Wednesday WIAW

[Breakfast]
Cellucor Mint Chocolate Chip Protein Pancake Coffee MyOatmeal PBLean
Were you prepared for this? I made a delicious mint chocolate chip protein pancake with a cocoa syrup swirl and peanut flour drizzle on top. It was just as good as it looks. And sounds!

[Morning Snack]
Pomelo
Pomelo.. ever had one? We saw someone cooking with it on tv and decided to grab one at the store. They taste a lot like grapefruit. And they’re just as messy!

[Lunch]
Moroccan Turkey Meatballs Avocado Kale Salad
Kale salads started to sound good again this week so I took full advantage and jam-packed that container to take to work. I topped this guy with some Moroccan turkey meatballs that we had leftovers.

[Afternoon Snack]
ZICO Chocolate Coconut Water

Think Thin High Protein Fiber Bar Chocolate Almond Coconut
It’s been a long time since I’ve had a chocolate ZICO. They’re so good! And that new Think Thin bar? Just as chewy and delicious as the rest. I don’t know how they keep coming up with so many new, delicious flavors but I’d happily be a taste-tester for them.

[Dinner]
Fried Egg Sriracha Cottage Cheese Zucchini
Back to the cheesy, eggy goodness for dinner. A long day at work had me feeling a little off again. Leftovers were the plan anyway, so I sauteed up some zucchini, added cottage cheese [side note: always get Daisy. I got a store brand and it’s just not as good.], and topped it with an egg. Not the prettiest, but delicious nonetheless.

[Evening Snack]
Back to sticking to my apple. I’m really trying hard to cut out the extra snacking and I’ve been reaching for the sweets at night. This is where the willpower is tested but so far, so good!

Tonight, however, will be a different story. I hope you enjoy some good times with your loved ones ringing in 2015! Happy [almost] new year!

Food for Thought

Are you going out or staying in for New Years Eve?

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #117: Reset

Leave a Reply

