What I Ate Wednesday #114: The True “Normal”

Have you entered my Peanut Butter & Co. giveaway?

I may have gotten back to my pretty “normal” eating last week after Thanksgiving, but the truth is I was still on vacation. It might have just been at my parents’ house, but that still means a little extra snackage, a little bit bigger meals, going out for dinner and drinks with friends more often.. it all adds up. I was ready to get back to normal, normal and yesterday was the first day of that.

Peas and Crayons

[Pre-Workout]
Skoop Superfood Blueberry Bite
I missed these little bites!

[Breakfast]
Protein Egg White Oatmeal Oats Almond Coconut Peanut Butter Coffee
I don’t even know how many months I’m going on now with this breakfast but there’s just nothing better.

[Mid-Morning Snack]
I had to run to Berkeley Bowl and Trader Joe’s so of course I had to grab a couple samples! A bite of cheese, truffle salami, a bite of a cookie, and some coffee. The new truffle salami from TJ’s is fabulous! I rarely buy the sampled items but I couldn’t resist.

[Lunch]
Sesame Kale Bibimbop Ocean Spray PACt
Nathan didn’t finish his bibimbop the other night for dinner so I added it to sesame-marinated kale and topped it with an egg. The egg made it, obviously. On the side, I had a bottle of Cranberry Blood Orange PACt from Ocean Spray. It’s a cranberry extract drink with only 10 calories and 2g sugar per bottle; we all know the benefits of cranberries and cranberry juice, but there’s just so much added sugar. This drink tastes great—though I didn’t get a ton of blood orange flavor—and I’d definitely get it again.

[Afternoon Snack]
Love Grown Foods Power Os Daisy Cottage Cheese
I was so excited when I got a LOVE drop yesterday from Lindsay. It actually came the day after we got to Baltimore but I had no idea what it was! I’d been wanting to try the Power O’s for so long and had yet to come across them. They’re made from beans, you know. Clearly I needed to fit these into my snack today and they’re delish! I mixed a little NuStevia chocolate syrup into some cottage cheese and topped it with these crunchy bites. I can’t wait to try the other flavors!

[Dinner]
Roasted Butternut Squash & Sweet Potato Soup
I wasn’t going to do squash this week, but when I saw butternut for $.39/lb at the store, I couldn’t resist! I decided to make my butternut squash soup for dinner tonight and also worked in some Thai basil turkey with carrots and green beans. This was such a good combo and I totally added more turkey to the top after I took some [much needed] replacement pictures for my original recipe post!

[Evening Snack]
The apple and nut butter prevail! I’m a creature of habit.. clearly I like my days to start and end the same way.

Food for Thought

Have you ever had a bean-based cereal?
What’s your favorite soup?

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary shipment of PACt from Ocean Spray. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #114: The True “Normal”

  1. Hi Brittany! Love your food, and I’m dying to try Love-Os once I saw you posted that on IG. It’s so hard to get back on the healthy eating train after the holidays, especially knowing it will all happen again at Christmas! I tried the PACt too and enjoyed it. Happy Wednesday!

  2. Butternut squash for .39/lb. wow thats awesome. I love your scoop bites – thats an awesome way to start the day! All of your meals looked great

Leave a Reply

