We Were Just Babies!

Hi friends, happy Monday! I hope you had as relaxing a weekend as I did. Friday kicked off with an awesome workout at a new-to-me circuit gym called Sweat. I went with a few of my coworkers and the trainer took us through 3 rounds of 8 stations of supersets. These exercises hit every single muscle and I was definitely feeling it all weekend, especially my abs! I can’t wait to go back again.. luckily they’re on ClassPass.

Saturday, Nathan and I took it easy and celebrated 11 long crazy years. I can’t believe we’ve been together for so long; we were just babies when we first started dating!

Prom Nathan Brittany

Check. Us. Out.

Saturday night was when we had the big plans for a nice dinner out. We’d been talking about going to Gather practically since we moved here and walked past it the first time. The price point is a little higher than our normal night out on the town so we knew it would be good for a special occasion, and it definitely was! We started out with drinksβ€”a local red wine for me and a local black ale for himβ€”and split 2 small plates. [You’ll excuse the lovely lighting for the pictures, yes?]

Gather Acme Bread Rockwall Red Wine

Rockwall sangiovese blend and fresh Acme bread

Gather Crispy Pork Terrine

Crispy pork terrine with herbed buttermilk, hot sauce, pickled melon rind

Gather Wild Mushroom Sweet Potato Crispy Quinoa

Wild mushrooms with sweet potato, celery root, Treviso, crispy quinoa

Both dishes were so delicious and full of flavor but I think I ended up preferring the mushroom dish and Nathan went more for the pork terrine. No surprises there; boy loves his fried food πŸ˜‰

There were so many appealing options on the menu for the entrees, one of which would be the amazing looking pizzas, but I couldn’t say no to the black cod. I hardly ever make seafood at home because Nathan doesn’t eat it, so I love to get it whenever we go out. The cod did not disappoint in the least; I ate it flake-by-flake and the skin was perfectly crispy too. I think I “mmm”-ed with almost every bite!

Gather Black Cod Broccoli Celery Root Maitake

Local black cod with broccoli di Ciccio, celery root, Maitake, lemon

Gather Black Cod Broccoli Celery Root Maitake Mushroom

Zooming in for the close-up!

Nathan ordered the burger with fries which may not sound too exciting but he confirmed that it was a pretty damn good burger! And I can confirm that the fries were tasty too. We skipped out on dessert in favor of a couple peanut butter cookies we got earlier in the day; a nice little sweet treat to finish it out.

Peanut Butter Cookie

Yesterday was all about recovery from our big meal. Ha! We watched football, went to a couple grocery stores, and did lots of cooking and prepping for the week. We might have had a messy kitchen, but dinner was awesome!

Herb de Provence Roast Chicken Smashed Potatoes Brussels Sprouts

That chicken recipe will be coming soon πŸ˜‰

Weekly Meal Plan

Sunday – Herb de Provence roast chicken, gouda smashed potatoes, and roasted brussels sprouts
MondayVietnamese pork bowl
TuesdaySmokey chicken wing chili
WednesdayChicken bacon rice bowls
Thursday – Leftovers
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

If you’re married, do you still celebrate your dating anniversary?
Did you do anything fun over the weekend?

21 thoughts on “We Were Just Babies!

  1. oh nom nom! SO many good eats, you are making me hungry again, and I just ate! Isn’t it crazy how quick those years stack up, I am loving the time hop app on my phone, but makes me laugh at a lot of my outfits! I am sure we will be doing the same in 10 more years haha

  2. Sounds so yummy! Congrats on being together for so long-that’s awesome πŸ™‚ I had a great weekend with my last day of visiting Chicago and then spending a lazy Sunday at home!

  3. Can’t wait for that chicken recipe. It looks killer (so do the Brussels…)
    Your small plate choices are awesome. Love that crisp on the pork. THAT BREAD DOE. (get it, dough, doe? yes? no?)
    I always get seafood when I go out because I don’t cook it at home either! But I don’t cook it at home because a) I can’t do it nearly as well as a restaurant, b) I get nervous about fish going bad/when it’s bad/etc, and c) it stinks up the place. So yes, ordering it out is the way to go. I didn’t know Nathan didn’t eat fish!
    Happy 11 years!

  4. Happy Anniversary! I just read about Gather this weekend when I was in SF. sounds like such a delicious restaurant! I’ll have to keep it on my must try list for next time I’m in town πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

