27 Years

Isn’t it funny how your birthday really just sneaks up on you as you get older? When you’re young, it’s a whole big to-do.. your parents bring Dunkin Donuts munchkins into school, you get a big party with lots of cake, and you get a whole day about you. Well, I decided to take the day off of work today, Nathan’s coming home early to take me to lunch, and Saturday [after work] is all birthday fun! It’s the little things that make me realize how lucky I am.

This birthday is definitely a bit different for me; it’s my first in California so it’s going to be full of all new experiences. Last year, I was lucky enough to be surrounded by a ton of family and I loved it.

Grandpa

This year already kicked off with a great startβ€”I skyped with my mom who sang happy birthday to me at 12 am EST. The time difference is still weird sometimes but she is always there to remind me that I was born in Eastern Standard Time πŸ˜‰ And I’ll be back in Baltimore for more celebrations in just a few days.. I can’t believe it’s here already and I’m so looking forward to it.

My 26th year brought quite a bit of change with the big move across the country. It’s really taught me a lot about my life, myself, my marriage, and so much more than I could have imagined. As someone who isn’t a big fan of change, giving up my career to explore what I think I want to do with my life next has been really scary. And while it’s been difficult, I couldn’t have asked for a more supportive husband to encourage me and cheer me on throughout the process. In the last year, I’ve learned even more that Nathan truly is my best friend; we couldn’t have done this move without each others’ support and I’d say that’s a hell of a lesson to learn.

Stinson Beach Brittany Nathan

I may not be with my family and friends this time around, but I think I’ve got a pretty great group of people to celebrate with out here.

Tone It Up TIU Mission Dolores Park Clueless

Not to mention how special it’s going to be when I get to see the fam again.

Orioles Dad

Orioles Mom

Jilly Bean Smiles

Matt Jilly Melissa

Things seem to really be falling into place and 26 was a hell of a year. I can’t wait to see what 27 will bring!

No questions today, just thoughts πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “27 Years

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope you have a wonderful day! I was not with my usual family and friends this year, but I definitely enjoyed it. I am sure you will do the same πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

