Resting Up and Lobster Red

What a great weekend. Nathan and I were so looking forward to a weekend of exploring new things but also getting some serious R&R and  that’s exactly what we did.

I kicked off Friday with a killer workout that did me in for the rest of the weekend! Between all of the jumping lunges, jump squats, and weighted wall sits, my legs were done-zo. I spent the rest of the weekend waddling around.

Weighted Wall Sits

…and this was the easy part.

Friday night, we went to Westbrae Biergarten. It just opened up a few months ago and with the weather being so beautiful lately, we were psyched to find such a great outdoor spot.

Happy Hour Westbrae Beer Garden Berkeley

Who gets wine at a beer garden?!

We grabbed a bite to eat there and then headed around the corner for some ice cream. The flavor choice after tasting a few was overwhelmingly unanimous.. thai coconut sorbet it is!

Chocolatier Blue Patisserie Thai Coconut Sorbet

This was the longest I was allowed to hold the cone.

Saturday we drove down to Carmel. We picked up some lunch at Bruno’s for a little beach picnic and then completely chillaxed.

Carmel Beach Picnic Blue Diamond

Salads galore!

Carmel Beach Savasana

I call this active rest day.. savasana is my favorite post, after all.

A lesson we’ve yet to learn is that sunscreen is always your friend, even when it’s a little cool and foggy. I’m legitimately as red as a lobster and my skin hurtsss! But sunburn means you deserve In N Out on the way home, right?

In N Out Burger

Just gimme all your fries.

I don’t even like burgers.. this was Nathan’s, but I definitely helped out on those fries!

Sunday, between my sore legs and my crazy sunburn, I opted for another rest day. I made some delicious plantain protein bread

Lifting Revolution

..

Plantain Protein Bread

I have a feeling these will all be slathered with nut butters.

..we took a nice walk to the grocery store, and had an amazing dinner at Haven. We bought a Travelzoo deal months ago for dinner and never got around to using it. Until it was just about expired! I don’t know why we waited so long!

Haven Oakland Melon Soup

Chilled melon soup with coconut milk, lemon verbena ice, and frozen melon chunks.

Haven Oakland Tomato Salad

Tomato salad with smoked goat cheese, basil, and bagel crumb.

Haven Oakland Salmon Spaetzle Cabbage

My salmon with cabbage, turnips, spaetzel, and hot mustard.

Haven Oakland Flat Iron Steak Black Garlic Crushed Potatoes

Nathan’s flat iron steak with crushed potato, broccoli, and black garlic puree.

Haven Oakland Yellow Corn Budino Toasted Husk Ice Cream

Yellow corn budino with cornbread, blackberry jam, and toasted husk ice cream.

Everything was so well executed and very flavorful but the chilled melon soup stole the meal. The combination of the melon and coconut was unlike anything we’ve had before. The smoked goat cheese with the tomatoes and bagel crumbs mimicked the taste of smoked salmon which was unexpected and delicious. My salmon was perfectly cooked and cabbage, spaetzle, and radish added some great textures to the dish. My one comment is I felt like the mustard overpowered the salmon. I ended up scraping most of it off so I still got some of the flavor and I loved every bite.

The crushed potatoes and black garlic in Nathan’s dish were to die for. So chock full of flavor and the potatoes were creamy, but still had great texture, unlike regular mashed potatoes. And finally, the corn budino was again, unlike anything we’ve had before. It was corn 4 ways and the toasted husk ice cream was the winning component of the dish. Overall, I’d go back in a heartbeat.. if we got another deal. It’s a bit on the pricey side but the freshness, flavors, and execution were wonderful.

Like I said, a wonderful weekend. And glad to get back into meal routine again 😉

Swanson Giveaway Winner

Congrats to Anel for winning my Swanson $45 Giveaway! Please email me at Brittany@BarrAndTable.com within 48 hours to claim your prize.

Weekly Meal Plan

SundayHaven
MondayPiri-piri chicken with blood orange and roasted brussels sprouts
TuesdayLomo saltado
Wednesday – Leftovers
Thursday – Roasted salmon, sweet potato, and side salad
Friday – Leftovers
Saturday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

What were your fun plans over the weekend?

16 thoughts on “Resting Up and Lobster Red

  1. Oh my gosh I want your weekends eats: ice cream (well sorbet, but still good), in and out, goats cheese, salmon, and cookies! Nom nom nom! Yes please, and well earned after that workout. Squats are my least favorite exercise with how much they burn!

  2. I’m really proud of you for taking that second rest day that you needed and I am so envious of the In N Out. I’ve always wanted to go there! Tell Nathan I’m jealin’. The beach day sounds super relaxing, minus the sunburn 😦 in 10th grade we took a class trip to Block Island and it was super foggy so no one put on sunscreen. Then the whole grade showed up on Monday as red as lobsters! Gotta be careful! Oh, that salmon + that steak. WHAT a meal.

  3. That dinner looks awesome. You work hard girl-take those needed rest days. In N Out is the BEST. My bf and I stopped when we visited Sonoma because we had to. Best fast food burgers, for sure!

  4. Sometimes a low key weekend is perfect. Looks like y’all had one of those {despite the burn}! I got burnt when we went on our babymoon Caribbean cruise earlier this month, but only two little strips on my back where my bottoms slid down and there wasn’t any suntan lotion. It’s so bad that they blistered! Slather on that aloe 😛

  5. Oh no I hate being sun burned! I’ve had to learn that lesson the hard way too 😦 No fun! At least you got to enjoy a nice day at the beach though. And wow that dinner the next night… sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

