What I Ate Wednesday #92: Breaking the Plan

We’re usually pretty good about sticking to our weekly meal plan even if we do swap a few days every now and then. I’m kind of a stickler for eating at home during the week, but when Nathan walked in after work yesterday asking if I wanted to grab a cocktail, I couldn’t say no. It had already been a long week and it was only Tuesday! It was an impromptu date night and it was just so nice.

[Breakfast]
Coco-Peanut Butter Protein Pancakes
I’ve been loving a new protein pancake recipe this week—I’m calling them coco-peanut butter pancakes. I’m still adjusting ratios a bit for the perfect texture but I will definitely be sharing the recipe soon.

[Morning Snack]
Peanut Butter Jelly PB&J Yogurt Bobs Red Mill Granola Blue Diamond Blueberry Almonds
And because I haven’t had enough peanut butter, this PB&J yogurt “parfait” is hitting the spot!

Ingredients
– 1/2 cup greek yogurt [I use 2% Fage]
– 2 tbsp peanut flour
– 1 squeeze Pure Via [the vanilla is my favorite!]
– Splash of coconut almond milk
– A couple of your favorite berries [strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries are my fave!]
– A few Toasted Coconut and Blueberry Almond Breeze almonds
– 1 tbsp granola [I use Bob’s Red Mill Honey Almond]

Directions
Mix your greek yogurt, peanut flour, stevia, and coconut almond milk together until smooth. Top with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

[Lunch]
Kale Spinach Salad Sweet Potato Avocado Turkey Meatballs
I was loving the smoothies at work for lunch but recently I’ve been in more of a salad mood. Especially with the delicious leftover brussels and sweet potato we’ve had!

[Afternoon Snack]
Forte High Protein Gelato Espresso
I pretty much could have eaten a horse yesterday. This was snack #2 after a lemon vanilla Luna protein bar. The gelato is pretty amazing and I’ll be posting a real review soon!

[Happy Hour]
Prizefighter Mezcal Rye Cocktails

Prizefighter Happy Hour
Prizefighter is known for their cocktails. I’ve only been there once before but Nathan never had before and it was such a gorgeous night; perfect for a drink outside! My drink was the Tennessee Rye – rye, orange bitters, lemon, and soda. His was the Reconquista – mezcal, punt e mes, and aperol. They were both perfectly balanced and hit the spot. We’ll be back for sure!

[Dinner]
Jasmine Thai Fresh Roll Peanut Sauce

Jasmine Thai Ginger Chicken Salad

Jasmine Thai Drunken Noodles
Dinner was an early one at Jasmine Blossom. They have an awesome happy hour—$3 drinks and $5-7 appetizers.

I got the fresh roll filled with beets, carrots, vermicelli noodles, mint, and lettuce and served with the most delicious peanut sauce I’ve ever tasted! Because clearly there’s never enough peanut butter in my life. I might have been nice enough to share the roll with Nathan too. I also got the ginger chicken salad which I love—it’s light and super flavorful. Nathan ordered the chicken pad kee mao which is essentially drunken noodles and again, delicious.

[Midnight Snack]
Dinner actually kept me full longer than I expected but my stomach was grumbling before bed so I grabbed a spoon, a jar of PB, and a little granola. Mmmmmmm.

And now it’s just a few more days till we’re headed home 🙂

Food for Thought

Do you stick to eating at home during the week or do you go out?

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary shipment of Toasted Coconut and Blueberry Almonds from BlueDiamondTasteMakers.com. All thoughts and opinions of the product are my own.

14 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #92: Breaking the Plan

  1. Your dinner looks delicious! We make a meal plan for the week and eat in every day and then go out for one. However, sometimes you just need a change of plan! Especially when the sun is shinning and there is outdoor seating with a cocktail calling your name.

  2. Is there any better match than a spoon and PB? I have REALLY been feelin that lately.
    Mmmm cocktails. Nathan’s looks amazing, but the mezcal is killin me lately!

  3. Pingback: Pure Via Recipe Round Up and Giveaway! | Barr & Table

  4. Peanut butter pancakes, peanut Greek yogurt, peanut sauce – all I see is peanut and I like it! I’ve been eating peanut flour yogurt as mini snacks lately, too, and with a nice dash of salt it’s perfect. Your ‘parfait’ takes it up a notch and looks even better.
    I rarely ever eat out because a) it’s just me as I’m living alone and b) it doesn’t seem to be all that common to eat out over here. I’m not sure why and I wouldn’t mind going out to explore new restaurants every other week. The one you went to seems like a great one.

  5. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #93: Feels So Good | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

