Surfset, Kombucha Cocktails, and Baseball

More than anything else this week, I’m absolutely most excited about going home on Friday! Since my mom had the chance to play with my niece yesterday, we got to skype and seeing her smiling, giggling, and bouncing around just made me that much more excited to finally get my hands on her. This trip is going to be a short one since we’ll be home for a week and a half at the end of August so we’re not really going to be seeing people other than my family and I’ll definitely be soaking it in. But before I get caught up too much [more] in next weekend, let’s recap this weekend.

Friday night I went to the Summer Solstice event hosted by Sweat Guru and Sweat Republic. It was great to see all of the Sweat Guru girls again and it was a really nice event complete with kombucha cocktails, spray tans, makeup demos, and more.

Sweat Guru Fit Approach

One of the instructors at Sweat Republic was demoing 15 minute sessions of Surfset. I probably should have laid off of the kombucha cocktails before my turn πŸ˜‰ And after hearing so many wonderful things about Shauna Harrison in Baltimore and out here, I finally got the chance to meet her. It was her first time on a Surfset board too.. can you tell?

Shauna Harrison

She’s pretty freaking amazing. I’m really good at standing on the board. Ha!

Saturday, Nathan and I went to the A’s vs. Red Sox game and decided to do a little tailgating before.

Oakland Athletics Tailgate Nathan

Oakland Athletics Tailgating

Oakland Athletics Tailgate

We picked up some bahn mi for Nathan and I grabbed a grilled pork vermicelli roll. I needed something to wash down the vodka!

Grilled Pork Summer Vermicelli Roll

One thing we didn’t think about bringing was sunscreen. And you can really tell I was wearing sunglasses. Whoops! Hope it fades soon!

Sunday was a quiet day. We were both busy with work so other than braving the grocery store, we just stayed in and watched the World Cup and some baseball. It was nice to have a quiet day with all of the running around we’ve been doing lately. I rounded off the day with a delicious bowl of baked turkey meatballs and brussels with a little feta. It was pretty perfect.

Baked Turkey Meatballs Joy the Baker Brussels Sprouts

These meatballs are awesome; I always get 2 lbs of turkey so we have some to throw in the freezer just to have in the house but we always end up eating the whole batch within just a few days. This time I got 3 lbs of turkey.. let’s see how long that’ll last us! Hopefully we’ll be able to freeze some so we’re not completely out of food when we get back after our trip.

Weekly Meal Plan

SundayBaked turkey meatballs with honey balsamic roasted brussels sprouts
MondayTurmeric chicken with grilled veggies
Tuesday – Leftovers
Wednesday – Mexican grilled chicken and cauliflower rice bowls with black beans, salsa, guacamole, and baked tostones
Thursday – Leftovers
Friday & Saturday – HOME!!

Food for Thought

Did you do anything fun over the weekend?
What’s on your menu this week?

10 thoughts on “Surfset, Kombucha Cocktails, and Baseball

  1. Mmm that Sunday dinner lookslike EVERYTHING. I am cooking with baby cabbages this week and have been in withdrawal so I am so psyched! I’m glad you had fun at the game. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

