A Weekend of Celebrations and Bread Wars

Well I had quite the exciting start to my weekend. You may have seen on Instagram already, but if not, you should really know that I’m now certified to kick your butt.

NASM Certification

I passed! That damn NASM CPT test was a beast and I’m so glad to have that weight off my shoulders. It was really helpful to use Julie and Gina‘s study guides along with what I got from NASM to prep. If you’re interested in getting any NASM certification, you can receive a 10% discount by getting in touch with Michael Golembewski mentioning my name or blog when signing up. Just give him a call at 602-383-1263 or email him at Michael.Golembewski@nasm.org and don’t forget to mention Barr & Table!

Clearly, passing the test called for celebrations. First stop was a bar in Berkeley for a couple drinks and to watch our Orioles. They’ve been playing the A’s so we’ve been able to actually watch our guys out here! [Not that it’s been much to watch..]

Baltimore Orioles

Then we went for celebratory sushi!

California Hand Roll

Got a free California hand roll for checking in on yelp. And it was possibly the best California roll I’ve ever had.

Chirashi BowlI also got a chirashi “bowl” .. typically served in a bowl, but you can’t beat the freshness regardless of how it’s served! Not to mention it’s gorgeous. I also loved this restaurant because Nathanβ€”my non-seafood eaterβ€”could get something other than teriyaki chicken.

Pork Belly Soba Noodles
This pork belly soba dish was so flavorful and delicious!

Saturday we continued the celebrations with brunch and farmers’ marketing.

Pastrami Eggs Benedict

Pastrami benedict. I don’t think there’s much else to say here. I don’t know the last time I’ve had such a perfectly poached egg.

Grand Lake Farmers Market Peaches

And we got peaches for days! I’m not even a peach-eater but these were so amazing, we filled up.

Yesterday, we had a fun day at a sourdough starter class. I’ve not had much success making bread at home so I’m hoping these starters work out better for me. I can’t wait to get started!

Sour Flour Sourdough Starter Class

Sour Flour Sourdough Starter Class Nathan

Sour Flour Sourdough Starter Class Brittany

Sourdough Starter Bertha Matilda

We were told that to have a successful starter, it needs to have a name. We actually both chose Bertha [we’ve been together too long] but I let Nathan have it. Let the bread wars begin!

Sour Flour Sourdough Starter Class Nathan

Sour Flour Sourdough Starter Class Brittany

I think Nathan’s camera work could use a little help, yes? πŸ˜‰ He also wouldn’t stop chewing to smile. I promise he was happier than he looks. Ha! And with all of my celebrations, it’s about time to get back to a nice meal plan. Holy moly!

Weekly Meal Plan

Sunday – Turkey caprese meatball salad
Monday – Honey ginger chicken and veggie stir fry
Tuesday – Leftovers
Wednesday – Quinoa crusted chicken strips with BBQ honey mustard and asparagus fries
Thursday – Ginger chicken with peaches and onions + roasted broccoli and rice
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

What fun things did you do over the weekend?
Have you ever made bread at home?

18 thoughts on “A Weekend of Celebrations and Bread Wars

  1. Hahaha WTF Nathan, next time he should skip the bread class and go to photography class. KIDDING! Kinda. πŸ˜‰
    So glad you got to do that together though, you look so cute in that class photo. Congrats again on passing!!!!! I knew you would! And I’m glad that your free hand roll was so amazing. Often those Yelp freebies are blah-bies so I love that it was so great. Um that poached egg too..perfection.
    I had my first peach of the season yesterday. So great! An impulse buy from TJ’s!

  2. Congrats! Have you thought about maybe doing online training?

    I have made bread before, and despite my usual kitchen disasters it came out really good! Now it’s my tradition to always make it on a snow day, so I probably won’t make it again until next year but it will be a welcomed treat!

    • Thank you! I have considered doing online training. I know there’s a market for it and definitely competition so it’ll take some work πŸ™‚

      Hopefully we’ll make a successful batch of bread soon!

Leave a Reply

