Fat and Happy

You know that feeling of being wonderfully full after a delicious meal? That’s what Nathan and I call fat and happy and it was our motto back in the day. Now, I wouldn’t say that we spent our whole weekend that way, but we definitely finished it of that way! There were lots of smiles.

I celebrated the weekend [both days] with pancakes.

Coconut Protein Pancakes PB Lean Figs

Morganne’s coconut protein pancakes are fabulous and I’ve been enjoying the day after day, sometimes with figs, sometimes with banana. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Nathan and I celebrated Saturday with a little bar hopping.

Trappist Provisions Evil Twin Imperial Biscotti Break Malka Blonde

Hers: Evil Twin Imperial Biscotti Break | His: Malka Blonde

We started out at The Trappist Provisionsβ€”the fanciest of the barsβ€”continued to The Gradute, and finally, Barclays. We stopped at the Ramen Shop for dinner afterward. I wasn’t feeling ramen at all so I went for the salmon salad appetizer with an egg.

Ramen Shop Salmon Salad

It was beautiful! But next time I need at least 5 of them to fill me up and about 10x less salt. Oh well, live and learn.

Sunday was spent strolling through neighborhoods of Berkeley and Oakland. We stopped at Elmwood Cafe for lunch; I’d been wanted to try it since Gina wrote about it and it did not dissapoint!

Elmwood Cafe Latte Soup

Here, take my picture. But please don’t wait till I’m ready.

Elmwood Cafe Latte Soup

People call this the latte soup. It was huge!

Elmwood Cafe Smoked Salmon

I got the smoked salmon sandwich with cream cheese, cucumber, pickled onion, and lemon pepper on Acme levain bread. It was so good. I’ve really been feeling smoked salmon lately and this was nice and light. Which saved room for a shared strawberry and sour cherry turnover and..

Peanut Butter Crunch Ice Cream Ici

.. homemade peanut butter crunch ice cream in a homemade chocolate-lined waffle cone from Ici. It was every bit as delicious as it sounds. Nathan told me I was smiling too hard, but really.. do you see what I’m holding?!

As we walked around town, we stopped in other patisseries, meat and cheese shops, and grocery stores, tasting our way through. There are so many restaurants and ice cream shops we found [including a liquid nitrogen ice cream shop!} and have a lot more tasting to do. But for now, I don’t think we can thinking about more food! Ok, that’s a lie. Give us an hour..

Weekly Meal Plan

SundayHerbed turkey burgers with Nathan’s homemade onion jam, roasted tomatoes, and arugula on cauliflower rolls
MondayLentil ratatouille
TuesdayMoroccan-spiced chicken with roasted cauliflower and farro salad
Wednesday – Leftovers
Thursday – Winging it!
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

What fun stuff did you do over the weekend?
What’s on your menu this week?

24 thoughts on “Fat and Happy

  1. The smoked salmon sandwich looks incredible. I’d say we ate well this weekend since we had The Cheesecake Factory & this lovely organic restaurant later on in the evening. Both were delicious!

  2. Good week of eats! Love the before and after pic of the latte soup…that thing is HUUUGGGEE! Also looooove smoked salmon! We have it for christmas day each year πŸ™‚

  3. I too have been LOVING smoked salmon! I crave it all the time! Your sandwich looks insanely delish. You look so pretty in the pic where you’re holding up the soup bowl!

  4. Mmmm we also had pancakes this weekend. There’s nothing better than the smell of pancakes on a Sunday morning.

  5. I just had pancakes too! Cos everyone needs pancakes on a Tuesday… And I treated myself to a box of blueberries so they were EVEN better πŸ™‚

    I don’t think you’re smiling too hard, I’d be doing a bloody jig if I had that ice cream in my hand haha!

Leave a Reply

