Five Things Friday

Friday! Long weekend! I have to work tomorrow and Monday, but such is the life of a retail store employee, right? Oh well, we’re still going to have fun this weekend.

  1. Yesterday was quite the exciting day! I had some errands to run so I dropped Nathan off at work and on my way back, maybe 1/4 mile from my apartment, I almost got into a huge accident [not my fault at all]. It was one of those times where as I slammed on my brakes and horn, the thoughts going through my mind were along the lines of “I wonder how bad this accident is going to be.” Thankfully my brakes are [maybe were, now] amazing and I stopped about 1 foot away from t-boning the the guy that decided to swerve and do a u-turn right in front of me. All is well, but I was definitely shaken up! If that didn’t wake me up, I don’t know what would.
  2. Once I did get around to my errands, I went to the store to stock up on ingredients for a homemade porchetta. Nathan’s been talking about making one at home since we had it in Italy. We currently have 10 lbs of pork in the fridge. No, we’re definitely not vegetarians!Porchetta

    Porchetta
    Oooooh this is gonna be good!

  3. With my crazy morning I decided I needed a nice treat for lunch. I’d been eyeing the freshly-made sushi at Berkeley Bowl since the first day we went and I finally got some. Salmon with avocado in brown rice and edamame. I also made my own spicy sriracha “mayo” [aka greek yogurt] for dipping. I’m not a soy sauce-dipper.. never have been!
    Salmon Avocado Brown Rice Sushi Edamame Sriracha Berkeley Bowl
  4. I mentioned the other day that my peanut butter was dwindling. Nothing a little Vitamix action can’t fix! And because I can’t leave well enough alone, there’s a little chia seed in the mix this time. That also means licking the Vitamix was my afternoon snack haha!
    Homemade Chia Peanut Butter
  5. Tomorrow we’re heading into the city for dinner, drinks, and live music. When Nathan came out to SF last year, he went to The Saloon with a friend of his. He said it was basically SF’s equivalent to our favorite live music bar in Baltimore, Cat’s Eye. We used to head over for some music after a little bit of this..
    Maxs Taphouse Broadway Big Ass Draft

    Max’s special Big Ass Draft.. every Friday $5 for 32 oz!

    The Cats Eye Pub

    We’ve been meaning to go to The Saloon since we moved out here and I’m psyched to finally head over!

Well, I hope you all have a great Memorial Day weekend.. enjoy all of the cookouts, sunshine, and time with friends and family!

Food for Thought

What are your big plans for the weekend?

10 thoughts on “Five Things Friday

  1. We have pretty similar thoughts on a lot of things, isnt homemade peanut/almond butter the best? I am not sure I can go back to buying it now, but yes, it is hard to stop eating it!!! I had sushi the other night, SO good!

    My weekend involves starting to pack up my stuff in my apartment, and going to the Italian market in Philly….one of the few things on my bucket list I have not done!

  2. Your plans tonight sound like so much fun. Enjoy them! That live music sounds really relaxing. What a great Friday night. I’m so glad that your accident didn’t actually turn into one and that you are OK. We still haven’t met in person yet so I mean that still has to happen so you aren’t allowed to go anywhere. Deal? Deal. Oh, and that pork looks incredible.

  3. So glad you didn’t get into an accident. That would’ve made for a terrible day.
    I definitely want an update on how the porchetta turns out. As a fellow meat eater, I think that might have to go on my to do list πŸ™‚ have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

