A Weekend of R&R

One of my favorite thing about sitting down to write my Monday posts is looking back on my weekend. It’s always nice to revisit the fun things we did. Maybe it’s because last weekend we were away but this weekend was extra quiet and relaxing. It was one of those weekends that Nathan and I looked at each other and said “uhh.. what did we do?!” And we were both ok with it!

Friday night we stayed close to home and had a little bbq for dinner at T-Rex. I got a nice salad with beets, goat cheese, citrus, and grilled salmon. Nathan had the brisket cheesesteak. It was good, but definitely didn’t cure the bbq craving for Nathan. Any good bbq recommendations in the bay area?

Roasted Beet Salad Grilled Salmon T-Rex BBQ

Saturday ended up being a day at home. We cleared out the fridge for lunch and mostly sat on our butts all day. We decided to venture out for Chinese food for dinner. I was happy to have some steamed veggies and shrimp because we dug into an incredible banana, sea salt caramel gelato for dessert. And when I say we dug in, I mean there were no pictures 😉

When we got home, we watched We’re the Millers. If you’re looking for a good comedy, I definitely recommend this movie! I feel like it’s been almost impossible to find a decent comedy lately, but this one had us laughing!

We're the Millers

Yesterday was the big day.. I worked, we went to lunch, and we went to the grocery store. Holy moly, such a busy day 😉 I made myself a pretty awesome breakfast before heading to work.. a little snickerdoodle protein pancake action went down!

Kiss My Broccoli Snickerdoodle Protein Pancakes

But because we were inside most of the day Saturday, I decided we should head to Off the Grid for lunch. It was a beautiful day here and food trucks = time outside.

KoJa Kitchen Chicken Pineapple Kamikazee Fries

KoJa Kitchen Portabello Burger Rice Buns

We ordered from KoJa Kitchen. I had the vegetarian portabello burger & pineapple koja and the teriyaki chicken & pineapple koja, both on rice buns, which were essentially sticky rice patties that were seared on a flat top. Nathan got the same teriyaki chicken koja and an order of kamikazee fries which were piled up with onion, bulgogi, and spicy sauce on top of waffle cut fries. Everything was so good!

And now we’re back on the weekly meal planning because we need to get our lives back in order after so much fun.

Weekly Meal Plan

SundayChopped brussels sprout salad with chicken [for Nathan]/swordfish [for me] and pecans
Monday – Sweet potato noodles with asparagus and chicken tequila habanero sausage
TuesdayPecan crusted chicken salad with strawberry honey mustard
Wednesday – Leftovers
ThursdayQuinoa salad with pineapple mojito chicken
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

Did you do anything fun over the weekend?
What’s on your menu this week?

10 thoughts on “A Weekend of R&R

  1. Sometimes weekends of doing nothing besides eating good food are the best. Heck, who am I kidding.. those are the very best if you ask me. I mean you get some QT time w/ your man, lots of cuddling & you eat well. Could you really ask for more? 😀

  2. Mmmm chopped brussels salad on the food prep menu sounds fab! I’m glad you had a relaxing weekend. Lord knows I need one after my weekend! The food truck noms look fabulous and that sure is a nice salad for a BBQ place!

  3. Good to know about the movie- we struggle to find a good comedy, too! Your food looks delish- those pancakes… mmm!!!

Leave a Reply

