What I Ate Wedneday #86: Wine Country or Bust

Have you entered my Peanut Butter & Co. giveaway?

Remember when I talked about my pre-retoxing last week? Let’s just say I’m glad I did that because I very well could have undone all of that with the damage I’ve done over the past few days! That’s what anniversaries are for though, right? Just agree with me here. It was a really great trip and we did our part to eat and drink our way through wine country.

Anniversary Weekend

This is before we even started drinking!

There was a breakfast that started with sparkles and complimentary scones..
Sparkling Wine Vintners Inn

Raisin Scone Vintners Inn

..and finished with perfectly poached eggs over smoked salmon.

Smoked Salmon Benedict Vintners Inn

There was a picnic lunch with a bottle of chardonnay..

Soda Rock Chardonnay

..beautiful views and a smoked duck salad.

Soda Rock Winery

Smoked Duck Salad Goat Cheese Croisteaux Bakery

There was a wonderful anniversary dinner complete with amuse-bouche..

Amuse Bouche John Ash

..a colorful plate of seared ahi tuna, fava beans & puree, artichokes, and crispy fried noodles..

Ahi Tuna Fava Bean Puree Artichokes John Ash

..and a decadent devils food chocolate cake dessert with vanilla gelato and bruleed banana slices.
Devils Food Chocolate Cake Banana Brulee John Ash

There was even more chocolate and cookies..

Vintners Inn Chocolates

..though the cookies didn’t make it to picture πŸ˜‰

There were huge roses and gorgeous sunsets.

Roses

Sunset Wine Country

And the most appropriate ending to the anniversary tripβ€”a beer sampler, vegan pizza, and baked buffalo wings.

Russian River Beer Sampler

Megans Vegan Pizza Russian River

It really was a perfect getaway. And we might have been sad to have to get back to real life, but this is just in our backyard now. Maybe another trip next weekend? Ha!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a date with some egg whites, smuices, and salads πŸ˜‰

LOVE Wedding

Food for Thought

What is your favorite way to celebrate a special occasion like an anniversary or birthday?

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wedneday #86: Wine Country or Bust

  1. Alll your meals almost look too gorgeous to eat….almost! Can you believe I’ve never been to a winery before? I’m not a huge wine drinker, but you’ve about persuaded me to go anyways πŸ™‚

  2. what a sophisticated day of eats! Very nice! But for a very special occasion, which is great πŸ™‚ I love to celebrate anniversarys or special days with meals out, but sometimes it is nice to cook together too. As long as you are together πŸ™‚

  3. Everything everything everything looks so incredible and lovely and I’m so proud of you for taking advantage of such a special trip and not forgetting all the “detoxing” you did prior to the trip. Just because you “retoxed” does not discount the detox that you did and that your body will likely crave after. That tuna. That pizza. That scone. That bubbly. GIVE IT TO ME

  4. Everything tastes better in wine country! When we lived in CA my husband and I always found a vineyard B&B to celebrate anniversaries and because he was a marine there were always homecomings to celebrate too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

