What I Ate Wednesday #80: How Bizarre

You’re welcome.

Apparently Nathan sent me this video last week and that’s why I’ve had it stuck in my head. And it totally applies to my food for the past few days too. You’re in for a real treat today! Haha I realized that I’ve been doing a lot of “roast and throw into a bowl” recently and while I often make it a point to make my plates look nice, it’s been pretty comical lately.

Day drinking on Sunday called for a random throw together dinner. Neither of us felt like cooking..

Kabocha Carrots Garlic Avocado Egg

Roasted kabocha with nutritional yeast, microwaved egg,
baby carrots, roasted garlic avocado spread.

Frozen bananas and leftover fresh mint made a delicious, but not so pretty dessert.

Mint Chocolate Chip Protein Ice Cream

Mint chocolate chip protein banana “ice cream”.

And a busy day running around with only time to throw more leftovers into the microwave for lunch looks a little something like this..

Spaghetti Squash Casserole Frittata

Spaghetti squash casserole, leftover frittata, peas, and sriracha.

And finally, last night’s dinner. Another crazy day and working late turned into buffalo kabocha and brussels.

Buffalo Kabocha Squash Brussels Sprouts Nutritional Yeast

Roasted kabocha and brussels with buffalo sauce and nutritional yeast.

I was going to make a joke about how nutritional yeast “really does taste like cheese!” It kind of drives me nuts when people substitute so many ingredients and say it tastes the same as the real deal [note the “ice cream” in quotes above] and then I realized that it honestly is a darn good substitute to make mac and cheese. Good deal for vegans 😉

Also, I’m wondering if it’s possible to roast a kabocha squash and not eat the entire thing in one day. Has anyone had such luck? I have not, but I’m kind of ok with it.

Food for Thought

What’s your favorite bizarre meal?
Any interest in the mint chocolate chip protein ice cream recipe?

16 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #80: How Bizarre

  1. I have a feeling our dinner will be looking a lot like yours from Sunday night. It’s only 12 in the afternoon but I really have no desire to cook. Perhaps we may even have Ruby Tuesday or Applebees delivered??

    Yes please share the choc. chip protein ice cream recipe.

  2. I read your post title and the song IMMEDIATELY popped into my head. It reminds me of my childhood 🙂
    I see you trying to get extra veggies into your quick Sunday meal via the baby carrots! Good job.

  3. Great, now that song is in my head! I remember it all too well….I don’t roast Kabocha as often as butternut but if I roast the whole thing, I struggle to keep from eating it all! Most of the time, I try to only roast only part of it to avoid the stomach ache.

  4. You know… I have never done kabocha and nutritional yeast! I’m going to do that for dinner tonight. Maybe with some roasted tomatoes? Thanks for the idea! And no, I cannot keep the stuff in the house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

