The Great Peanut Butter Cup Debate

Have you entered my LÄRABAR giveaway yet?

Another relaxing weekend is in the books. Friday night involved some serious curly fry consumption and it really hit the spot!

Barneys Burgers Curly Fries

Except I took a picture after we were 75% through them..

We had dinner at Barney’s and since I’m not a burger gal, I went with the salmon burger. Unfortunately this might be one of the only places that I’ve come across a frozen patty since moving to California. That didn’t stop me from eating the whole thing, but it made the curly fries that much better!

Saturday was super slow. We started our day at the Oakland farmers’ market and took a nice long stroll around the city. We ended up at Ike’s for lunch; they’re known for their huge sandwiches and it was no joke. We both could only finish half of our sandwiches before heading to the Sierra Nevada Torpedo Room. Because as I said before, it’s not a weekend without beer!

Sierra Nevada Torpedo Room

Sunshine and beer. What more do we need?

Tastings are always the best when we want to try everything on tap! This might also have something to do with our demolishing of the sandwiches after we got home. And my nap. It was a good nap!

Yesterday was also pretty slow; we took a little run over to Farley’s for breakfast. Nathan is just starting to run so of course my thought for distance goals involves different places we can run to for breakfast. Always thinking about the food! Post-breakfast I went to the grocery store to stock up for the week and made a pretty exciting find.

Reeses Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups

PEANUT BUTTER CUP SHOWDOWN!

I’d heard about the Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups a few months ago but hadn’t seen them before. We already had some Reese’s at home so I figured we needed to do the taste test. The obvious differences are that the Reese’s comes in a wrapper and the Butterfinger is more squared off. I also noticed that the Butterfinger cup is a little thinner.

Reeses Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups Cutup

Team Reese’s or Team Butterfinger?

The results are in. I’m still 100% Reese’s and Nathan votes Butterfinger. Honestly, I feel like the Butterfinger cup was pretty darn similar to a regular Butterfinger bar. I wasn’t a fan of the crunch and much prefer the creamier texture of the Reese’s. Nathan’s always been a Butterfinger guy so that’s his excuse. I guess I’ll accept it. I also took a poll on Instagram 🙂

I washed my peanut butter cups down with my favorite vegan salad around—the wilted kale salad from Source. The salad comes with sauteed mushrooms, caramelized onions, avocado, & house dressing. I also added “cluck” on top to make it even more filling.

Source Mini Wilted Kale Avocado Cluck Mushrooms Onions

Holy cluck!

And we finished off the weekend with more caramelized onions. This time on a killer cauliflower crust pizza with pesto, balsamic onions, ground turkey, and smoked mozzarella. Holy. Cannoli. We win!

Cauliflower Crust Pizza Pesto Balsamic Onions Turkey Smozed Mozzarella Basil

Best. Combo. Ever.

Weekly Meal Plan

There weren’t many sales this week and since we’ve been stocking up on leftovers, we’re going to be cashing in. If you’re looking for meal plan help, shoot me an email.

MondayVietnamese Chicken, Avocado + Lemongrass Spring Roll Salad With Hoisin Crackers
TuesdayPork Tenderloin with Chipotle-Cranberry Sauce & Brussels Sprouts with Quinoa & Cranberries
Wednesday – Leftovers
ThursdayShish Tawook (Grilled Chicken Skewers) with Roasted Garlic Avocado Mayo, Garlic Parmesan Fries, & roasted asparagus
Friday – Out!
Saturday – Leftovers
Sunday – Leftovers

Food for Thought

Regular or curly fries?
Team Reese’s or Team Butterfinger?

14 thoughts on “The Great Peanut Butter Cup Debate

  1. If this is how you & your man eat every weekend, i wanna join in on he goods!! I heard about those butterfinger cups before, but have yet to try. It’s good to know your final thoughts. Although both sound good, I much rather prefer a Reeses pb easter egg 🙂

  2. Your cauliflower pizza look perfect!!!! You’ve now inspired me to make one this week 🙂

    As for the Reeses/Butterfinger debate – how dare you make me choose between two such glorious chocolately treats?! I absolutely cannot 🙂

  3. I just finished dinner but I’m still drooling over those curly fries!! Thanks for linking up- your menu always looks fantastic!

  4. That pizza looks amazing! I love the combination! I am looking for more nutritious foods as my peak races are coming up and I need to make sure I have the right fuel for my training….that being said those curly fries look delicious, they are the best too! You know good food when you see it! So glad you are still reeses, I tried both and agree with you in most areas.

    • I loved all of the options at Ike’s! You know, when I’m actually in the mood for a sandwich haha. I vote to stick with the Reese’s unless you’re a big Butterfinger fan 🙂

  5. I love all your beer tasting adventures! What a major bummer about the salmon patty. Frozen seafood at a restaurant is just UGHH inducing to me! Same with frozen veggie burgers! I find that frozen veggie burgers are way more common to find out so I rarely order them and don’t wanna “risk it”. Unless the menu declares it’s house-made!
    I heard about this butterfinger cup thing on NPR a couple months ago (of all places to hear about it). To me the Reese’s LOOKS way better but I have yet to try the butterfinger option! I love your comparison taste test, you know I’d do the same.
    Mmm curly fries.

    • If it doesn’t say homemade veggie burger on the menu, I’ll usually ask. This was frustrating but at least the fries were delish 😉 I think if you find the Butterfinger cups you should definitely do your own test!

Leave a Reply

