Wedding Blend Oatmeal

Have you entered my LÄRABAR giveaway yet?

A few weeks ago I was given the opportunity to review a new product from My Oatmeal through Fit Approach. Being the serious oatmeal lover that I am, I was pretty darn excited. And not only was I excited to try my own custom blend of oatmeal, I was happy to be supporting a great cause. The mission statement from their website states:

Our mission at MyOatmeal.com is simple.
We want to help our community and my fellow man. we will do this by donating gourmet oatmeal to various organizations that aid in natural disaster recovery.
We will also donate healthy oatmeal to non profit groups that make it their business to improve the lives of the people in their communities.
We will make it our priority to seek out, and support those groups and individuals that value family, community, our country our planet and our future by whatever means we have at our disposal via the MyOatmeal.com company.
Our mission is to make the world better, and encourage others to do the same.
One bag of healthy oatmeal at a time.

I couldn’t wait to jump in and start creating my custom blend. First up, you choose which size bag you want. Next you choose your oats; they have it all from instant, steel cut, gluten-free, and their signature smash blend. I opted for the signature smash blend which is a mixture of the 5 grain and steel cut oats. I figure if it’s their signature, it must be good, right?

Step 3 is where the real fun starts. Time to choose your flavors and add-ins!

MyOatmeal-CustomCheck out all of those flavors! It was so hard for me to choose, but when I saw Bananas Foster, I had to go for it. I also added in golden raisins, chipped coconut, quinoa flakes, and sliced almonds. Not exactly a traditional bananas foster, but I’m not a traditional gal. I also really liked that the nutritional information updated in real-time so anytime you check a box, the stats change.

Once you’ve chosen all of your flavorings, add-ins, etc, you get to name your blend. I named mine “Wedding Blend” since we had a bananas foster cake topper. Pretty cute, huh? 😉 Then you just sit back and wait.

MyOatmeal Custom Wedding Blend

My first oatmeal concoction was my pretty much my go-to. Except instead of adding banana into the oats, I saved it for the top. Usually, I’ll add half when I’m cooking the oats to give it some sweetness but since this was already flavored, I held off.

MyOatmeal Custom Wedding Blend Breakfast

In the bowl: custom oatmeal blend, egg whites, 1/2 sliced banana [because you can never have too much banana], homemade maple sunflower butter, homemade coconut cashew butter, The Good Bean chocolate chickpeas, and cinnamon.

The result? Delicious! I love all of the different flavors [is that rum?!] that the bananas foster gives to the oatmeal. It’s definitely a bit different from my normal oats and I would definitely go back to try more. Can you imagine peanut butter s’mores oatmeal? YES!

If you’re looking for a way to spice up your breakfast [or brinner] and support a great cause, I’d definitely recommend giving MyOatmeal a shot.

MyOatmeal

Food for Thought

Have you ever tried a custom oatmeal blend?

Disclaimer: I was provided 1 lb. of customized oatmeal from MyOatmeal.com as part of a campaign run by Fit Approach as a Sweat Pink Ambassador. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

5 thoughts on “Wedding Blend Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #79: Ravenous | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

