Back to Reality

Well, looks like we’re back to regularly scheduled programming. Unfortunately, we dropped my parents off at the airport yesterday afternoon. I can’t believe the week flew by so quickly but we really had a great time. In my mom’s words..

“It’s been food and drink and food and drink and WALKING! Lots of fun.”

San Francisco Giants Park Tour

And a little AT&T Park tour.

I’m not ready to go back to reality yet, but I guess that’s what happens when you grow up, huh? Nathan took the whole week off while they were here and we really treated it like a vacation for us too! We tried a bunch of new restaurants, visited some new places, and also showed off some of our faves. I mentioned last week that I fully expected their visit to be tough. Leading up to their visit, I hadn’t been feeling to awesome about the changes I’ve noticed in my body but I wanted to try to forget about that for the week. The first couple days it was on my mind, but honestly, I think making the deal with myself that I was just going to say screw it, enjoy every minute with them, and go back to my normal, healthier eating when they left made it so much easier. Ice cream again? Sure! Another beer sampler to share? Let’s do it! No need to justify my decisions to anyone because we were all about enjoying ourselves. You bet I had a couple of nights where I felt uncomfortably full but I’ll forget about that. What I won’t forget is seeing my parents try beer after beer after beer [they’re not big drinkers!]. I won’t forget watching my dad break up a cookie for a sundae before paying for it. I won’t forget sharing a lunch at Source with my mom and then discovering amazing gelato that we had to share too. I won’t forget watching my dad and Nathan play catch on the beach after our picnic. So today I resume my “normal” eating and I go back to working on getting back to feeling more comfortable in my skin. But only after having some chocolate coconut milk ice cream for dessert last night. Because ice cream is what we did. And last night was still “vacation” and damnit, I wanted some ice cream!

Food for Thought

Are you able to let go of your “crazy” sometimes? It was the best thing I could have done while they were here.

9 thoughts on “Back to Reality

  1. Love this! Letting go of ‘crazy’ can often be a little tricky but is something that I am a lot better at now – I never want ‘crazy’ habits to get in the way of living my life to the full… Sounds like you and your parents had an awesome week! I had some serious jealously going on at yesterday’s post 🙂

  2. Aw thank you for the link! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy your time with your parents and let go for a few days. Healthy eating will always be there so it’s nice to fully embrace the time we have with our loved ones. My mom is coming tonight and I know I’m going to do the same thing. Salads can wait until she leaves. I’d rather enjoy good foods and memories.

  3. It took me a really long time to just let myself go during vacations, but I feel like it was a HUGE step in realizing that food no longer has power over me. The last vacation we went on last summer, I indulged, I ate more ice cream than food and just enjoyed myself and after the vacation, I was down almost 5lbs. Glad you were able to enjoy your vacation!!

  4. Good times with family often come with good food and drink! and that’s ok. It’s OK to bond with your loved ones over mutual interests. Or show them your own interests (like your parents trying the beer) – that’s even MORE exciting. one of my fave things to do with visitors is take them to my fave restaurants. It’s so meaningful and special and there may be a lot of it in a short time but that short time is so special and I don’t want to waste it.

Leave a Reply

