What I Ate Wednesday #68: Blog Life

People outside of the blogosphere definitely don’t understand it. Telling my parents I was meeting up with another blogger for lunch boggled their minds and I found it pretty funny. There are seriously so many bloggers in the San Francisco Bay Area and I was excited to be able to workout a meet up with Gina from Health, Love and Chocolate.

We were looking for a halfway point to meet and she suggested Sprout Cafe in Palo Alto. One look at the build-your-own salad menu and I was sold! I’m basically sold on any build-your-own salad place, but Sprout has so many fun options [especially the premium ingredients ;)] And seeing Gina’s picture of her dinner salad the other night, I knew she wouldn’t take me to a bad place!

Sprout Cafe Kale Salad
I loaded up on kale and topped it with edamame, kaiware sprouts, watermelon radish, farro, golden raisins, toasted peanuts [love!], avocado, roasted brussels and butternut squash [obviously..], grilled portabella, and since I couldn’t decide on a dressing, I got the miso sesame dressing and lemon tarragon vinaigrette on the side. Is that the longest salad description you’ve ever seen or what?! Haha I was in heaven! And just to note, the lemon tarragon dressing was the clear winner, but you know I’m a fan of lemon tarragon. I think Gina went just as crazy on her salad too 🙂

Health Love Chocolate Gina
Her salad was so pretty from the beets.. but I’ll just have to go back and add that to my salad too. Obviously we talked a lot about food.. as we ate lunch.. and she mentioned a yogurt place called Fraiche. They make their own European-style yogurt in house and not only can you get the plain yogurt fat free, low fat, and whole fat, they also add flavors to it and make their own frozen yogurt! It just so happens that I’ve been craving frozen yogurt [when am I not?] so after we finished up our lunches and chatted a bit, we made our way over to Fraiche.

Oreo Cookie Froyo Granola Dried Fruit Compote Fraiche
I always go for the kiddie cup even though I know I could have eaten a large! I got the oreo cookie yogurt, which surprisingly, was not too sweet, and topped it with granola and dried fruit compote. It was SO good and the perfect treat after a nice, big salad. And it just so happens that there is another closer Fraiche location in San Francisco. I don’t think Nathan will put up too big of a fight if I have to drag him over there.

It was so nice to have the chance to meet up with Gina. She’s such a sweet girl and it’s great to find people with similar interests. I guess that’s what you get from the wonderful world of blogger 🙂

Food for Thought

Have you met up with people that you’ve met online?
Which salad toppings would you choose?

14 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #68: Blog Life

  1. I love meeting up with people that I’ve met online! A lot of times, I feel like I “know” them better than some “real-life” people that I’ve only talked to once … we learn so much about each other on blogs :). Your salad looks great!

  2. Haha, I think that is the smallest yogurt I have ever seen! I’m glad you got to try some. That salad place, MY HEAVEN! Gina definitely knows her salads! I’m glad you got to meet up with a blend. Hopefully that’ll be you and me someday. My parents are so used to me and my Internet friends now. Whenever I meet up with someone I say I’m going to see a “blog friend” or “Twitter friend” depending on where I met him or her!

  3. I would dream to meet alive what blogs I read. Unfortunately, it is almost impossible – I from Russia! From here you know many healthy bloggers? Our subject of healthy food yet didn’t gain such development that very much afflicts me… because it is one of my most beloved subjects to discuss 😉

  4. Haha it really is so funny what other people think of blogger meetups. It was so nice to meet you and we will definitely have to get together again soon! I will have to introduce you to a few other bloggers I know in the area so we can have one big blogger meetup :-).

  5. i was drooling over both your salads when you posted them on Instagram.
    I am always so jealous when bloggers get to meet! I have yet to meet my blogger friends! Looks like you two had a great time! Oh, and I’m sorry, but kiddie cups for fro-yo is just unacceptable 😉 ❤

  6. I’ve had a couple of blogger meetups and think they are great! I’m actually meeting up with someone for the second time next week to explore NYC eats 🙂 When I was in Northern California a blogger and I went to Philz Coffee!

Leave a Reply

