A Whirlwind Weekend

Today is the last day to enter my thinkThin giveaway!

I’ve been trying to write this post for a little while now, but to be completely honest, I’m exhausted! This past weekend was planned to be a little crazy and as each minute passed and plans began to crumble, it took a turn for the crazier. Though that’s not to say it didn’t end up being great.

Friday was a bit rough; work was absolutely nuts and I was less than thrilled when Nathan called to tell me I had a screw in one of the tires on my car. Of course, we just sold his car on Tuesday. New tire it is! I could not have been looking forward to getting home Friday night for my big date with my kitchen. Sunday was my sister-in-law’s baby shower and I was in charge of food. With a day chock-full of plans on Saturday, Friday was my night to get it done! Until I was at work until almost 11. Strike 1.

Saturday was one for celebrations. Lunch and wine plans with the bride-to-be, the moms, and 2 other bridesmaids, followed by Jessie and Adam’s engagement party that night meant I was up bright and at 7am to bake! I made it through almost all of the baking, had just enough time to sit down for breakfast, and was finished getting ready when Nathan told me that I had a flat tire. The new tire. On our only car. Not to mention, when we were changing the flat tire to the spare, the jack bent. AAA to the rescue! And strikes 2 and 3.

Eggs Yolk Brussels Sprouts Mushrooms Sriracha

I think it’s time I share some good food.. Breakfast #1: mushrooms, leftover brussels sprouts, eggs, and sriracha.

But we weren’t giving up! Luckily for me, I have the most marvelous husband. He dropped me off to have lunch and wine with the girls while he took care of the car. We met at Golden West Cafe and they were only serving their brunch menu.. looks like it’s time for more eggs!

Golden West Cafe Mushroom Omelette Zekes Coffee

Wild mushroom omelette with corn tortillas. More eggs? Why not!

And then it was time for wine.. after driving in circles for 30 minutes trying to find a place that was 1. open and 2. not having a special event. Basignani it is!

basignani

Well I must have been happy! [I swear we didn’t drink that much..]

I made it back home not long before Nathan [with our perfectly fixed car] and with just enough time to finish my baking for the shower before we headed out to celebrate these cute kids.

Cheers!

Sunday was game-time. I was up early again to get in a quick workout, enjoy a marvelous breakfast thanks to a LOVE drop from Love Grown Foods, and head to my parents house to get ready for the baby shower!

Love Grown Foods Super Oats

Love Grown Foods Super Oats. My new fave!

There was a little bit more baking to do once I arrived and some other food to assemble but my mom and I knocked it out pretty quickly. Within a few hours, we had enough food to feed an army and the house was transformed into a Mad Hatter tea party! The shower went off without a hitch and we couldn’t have been more excited.

Caprese Bites Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodle Biscotti New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies M&Ms

Speaking of feeding an army, check out that cute little army of caprese bites!

It was my first time being in charge of so much food [I didn’t even get pictures of all of it!] and I was really pleased with the way everything turned out. Maybe it’s something I should make more of a habit? 😉

I can’t believe it’s already Monday. The weekend absolutely flew by with everything we had going on, but like I said, it ended up being a good one! This week is for resting up, resetting, and getting ready for a big weekend ahead.. full of packing!

Food for Thought

How was your weekend? Did you have any big plans?

Have you ever been in charge of food for a party?

2 thoughts on “A Whirlwind Weekend

  1. WOW what a weekend. holy moly. marvelous and maddening too. i’m sure it was probably annoying to get to that restaurant and see they were only serving brunch. i bet you were banking on salad! i’m proud of you for going with the flow and just getting the eggs. you still made a super healthy brunch choice and they honestly look wonderful. but what looks more wonderful to me is that freaking yolky brussels goodness. GIVE IT TO ME NOW.
    i love how smiley you look in the wine picture. even if you didn’t have much wine that just means you were more au naturale happy, yes? 😉
    and i am dying over the presentation of those desserts and the tomato/mozz/basil app. BRAVO to you for getting all that done on this crazy weekend. and yes nathan is a great hubby for helping you so much with that car shit!
    stay marvelous girly. remember, you are indeed marvelous.

Leave a Reply

