What I Ate Wednesday #52: Another Birthday

Oh hi there, friends! It’s been a while, huh? Sorry about that.. life has been crazy the past couple weeks and I’ve been gathering all of the pieces.

Speaking of crazy, I can’t believe it’s already September! Here I am with my birthday edition of WIAW and it’s only 2 weeks late πŸ˜‰ I happened to have found myself in Florida on my birthday and even though we already had plans at home,Β  we quickly adapted and I had quite a tasty day. Not to mention, I was also with a bunch of family that I don’t often get to see; it was so nice to spend the day with everyone!

First and foremost, I want to wish a HUGE congrats to Jenn and her husband on the birth of their baby girl! So happy for you two three!

Birthday Lunch with the Fam!
Last time Nathan and I were in Florida, just a month earlier, we found a fabulous Vietnamese restaurant. This time, we wanted to try out another place to compare, so we dragged my family. How could they say no? It was my birthday! πŸ™‚

It was pretty entertaining watching everyone, including my Grandpa, trying to figure out the menu. Good thing there are always descriptions in English and lots of pictures!

Gramps <3

Gramps ❀

I just can’t get behind pho in the summer so my go-to has been the grilled pork vermicelli bowl. This pork was more of a sausage as opposed to the flat, grilled pork. It wasn’t my favorite vermicelli bowl, but it was still darn tasty! And of course I asked for extra crushed peanuts!

Grilled Pork Vermicelli Bowl

Grilled Pork Vermicelli Bowl

Snack Time!
After lunch, we dragged the youngins [otherwise known as the cousins and my parents] over to one of our new favorite breweries in Florida, Funky Buddha. I got a Cucumber Jones, a cucumber and basil infused wheat ale. I absolutely loved it! It was so refreshed and delicious.. I just wish I could get more of it!

Cucumber Jones Wheat Ale

Cucumber Jones Wheat Ale

Appropriately fuzzy, right? πŸ˜‰

Dinner
In the spirit of trying new restaurants, Nathan took me to a tiny Indian restaurant that seats about 10 people. It was a very “no frills” kind of restaurant; they even served the food in to-go containers. Works for us!

I went for the grilled tandoori chicken and Nathan, who was feeling something extra spicy, ordered the chicken vindaloo. When you order, they ask you to give a rating, 1 though 10, for how spicy you want your sauce. He ordered a 7 and it was definitely up there!

Tandoori Chicken

Tandoori Chicken

Spicy Chicken Vindaloo

Spicy Chicken Vindaloo

The food was so flavorful and the portions were very generous. We will definitely be returning!

Birthday Dessert
FROYOOOOOOOOO!! Seriously, it’s all I wanted. We located the nearest Yogurtland and I absolutely loaded up! It was perfect.

Yogurtland Birthday Froyo

Yogurtland Birthday Froyo

And to top it all off, I ended my trip with a run [in exhausting humidity] with this view.

Sunrise Florida

Food for Thought

Do you prefer to go to a fancy restaurant for your birthday or would you rather keep it casual?

What is your favorite dessert?

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #52: Another Birthday

  1. I like treating myself to a fancy restaurant for my birthday. It’s a good excuse to spend a little more money than usual and get all dressed up. My favorite dessert is any super chocolatey cake or ice cream and brownies! That cucumber basil ale sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

