What I Ate Wednesday #47: Weekend Favorites

Last weekend was another one for the books. We did a lot of running around and had a ton of fun but I think I’m paying for it this week. Don’t worry though, I’m catching up on my sleep at work πŸ˜‰

I forgot to snap pictures of a bunch of meals so I thought I’d highlight some of my favorites from the weekend.

Kona Grill Effen Cucumber Mojito Baltimore Maryland MD

Effen Cucumber Mojito at Kona Grill

I met Nathan at Kona Grill for happy hour before a last-minute Orioles game and got this awesome cocktail. It’s on their skinny menu [I’m the expensive one during happy hour..] and is a mix of Effen cucumber vodka [best name ever], mint, cucumber, and splenda simple syrup. I skipped on the sweetener because I know I love cucumber vodka as it is. This drink was so refreshing! I’m definitely going to be making it at home.

Plantain Bread Powercakes Purely Twins Protein Plus Peanut Flour KIND Snacks Granola

Plantain flatbread topped with peanut fluff and granola

Summer Fridays at work are the best. I get to leave work at 3:30 and I love to head home and make myself a snack instead of eating a bar like I do every other day. This time I tried plantain bread. I used recipes from Powercakes and the Purely Twins as a guide and made my own. Serves 1-2.

Ingredients
– 1 plantain- 1 tbsp ground flax*
– 1/2 tbsp coconut oil*
– 1/2 cup water

Directions
Preheat oven to 375Β°F and grease a loaf pan. Blend all ingredients together and pour into the pan. Let rest a few minutes, then bake 20-25 minutes.

I topped mine with peanut fluff [peanut flour*, stevia*, and water] and some granola for crunch.

*These ingredients can be found on iHerb.com. Use code ZAF482 to receive $5 off of your first order.

Grilled Zucchini Eggplant Corn Tuscan Ragu Parmesan Charles Shaw Merlot

Grilled veggies, Nathan’s Tuscan ragu, parmesan, & merlot. Perfect Friday dinner!

Friday night, we stayed in. I grilled up some zucchini, corn, sweet potato, and kale, mixed it with some of Nathan’s delicious Tuscan-style ragu, and topped with grated parmesan. This is one of my favorite meals lately; it’s like a big bowl of comfort! I may have also polished off the bottle of merlot.. it looked lonely. It wasn’t full when I started though!

Bobs Red Mill Protein TVP Oats Earth Balance Coconut Peanut Spread Sunbutter Zekes Coffee

Protein-Packed TVP Oats

Breakfast is always a highlight for me and my protein-packed TVP oats are the best. I always top with 3 different kinds of nut or seed butters and a little granola; this one has a homemade pumpkin seed butter, crunchy coconut peanut butter, and sunbutter. SO good!

Saturday night, we went out with Nathan’s sister. Before dinner, we took her to Brewer’s Art for some local brews and rosemary garlic fries. We went downstairs to the dark beer cave. It’s a fun atmosphere with, what we refer to as “mob” rooms. I tried to take pictures of the delicious food and drink, but it was just too dark.

Masala Dosa Indigma Indian Baltimore Maryland MD

Masala Dosa with coconut chutney at Indigma

Indigma Lamb Special Vegetable Coconut Korma Baltimore Maryland MD

Vegetable Coconut Korma & Indigma Lamb Special at Indigma

After drinks, we went over to Indigma for some Indian food. We shared the huga masala dosa, a potato-stuffed rice and lentil crepe with coconut chutney. I could pass on the potato stuffing next time and just go for the crispy crepe! It was delicious nonetheless. They also brought another flatbread to the table that tasted like it had strawberries in it.. I’m not sure exactly what it was but gosh darnit was it tasty!

Nathan and I shared two entrees; the vegetable coconut korma [which I primarily ate] and the Indigma lamb special [primarily for Nathan]. He ordered his spicy so he must not have wanted to share too much πŸ˜‰ They were both so flavorful and surprisingly not too heavy. We left there absolutely stuffed and will definitely be going back! Next time, we’ll hit up the lunch buffet so we can try more πŸ™‚

Food for Thought

What is your favorite type of cuisine? Are you adventurous or do you typically stick to American?

13 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #47: Weekend Favorites

  1. All your eat look great, that cucumber drink sounds wonderful! I love foreign foods! One of my favorite meals ever was an Indian meal I had when I was in China. I haven’t found many good Indian restaurants here in lexington but I do love good Indian foods.

  2. Fun! I stopped in Brewer’s Art once on a quick trip to Baltimiore. I didn’t realize they had a downstairs though. Very cool. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve actually never eaten upstairs! Haha I hear it’s great and I’ll definitely have to try it. Downstairs has a super limited menu.. really just some sandwiches, but so good!

    • It had been forever since I’d gone to Brewer’s Art.. I missed those fries (maybe a little too much haha). Definitely try Indigma, everything was so good! I’m craving it again!

  3. yum yum yum!!! like you said it was one for the books but you have a “regular” week now! it’s all about balance. i am also the expensive one during happy hour, i so loved that comment. the drinks on happy hour are always too fruit-juicey! i love effen cucumber vodka, i’ve had it before. yes great name. that plantain flat bread looks to die for! i need to get on the plantain train, especially since it rhymes

    • Totally agree about HH drinks.. either tons of sugar or bad beer. I have my priorities πŸ˜‰

      And yes, get on the plantain train! It was so delish.. gotta make another soon!

  4. Those plantain pancakes look so delicious – I am going to check out the recipes right away (though I have no idea where to get plantains here in Germany…) – and don’t let me start on the Indian food. The colour of the curry and lamb is to die for!

  5. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #48: Cajun Chicken Pasta and a Giveaway | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

