Foodie Friday: Honeymooning in Paris

I truly believe that my feelings of blogging post-honeymoon made it far too real that I have to come back to real life. I didn’t want to come back from the honeymoon; in fact, I still don’t want to be back. But here I am [guess I have to be a grown up again, huh?]. And it’s time to finally recap some of my amazing experiences!

Notre Dame Paris France

Honeymooning in Paris

Nathan and I are huge fans of Anthony Bourdain. We watch all of his shows and when it came time to research restaurants for the honeymoon, that definitely came into play. I recall watching his Paris episode of The Layover and seeing a place called L’Avant Comptoir. I was immediately intrigued by the small [some may call it cozy] atmosphere, the shared bread baskets [oh my gracious, the bread in Paris..!], and the menu—cards with pictures and names hanging down from the ceiling.

L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

The whole restaurant!

L'Avant Comptoir Paris France Menu

The menu hanging from the ceiling.

This was a place I had to go. Every time we talked about Paris, I told Nathan I wanted to go to the place with the hanging menu. And I am so glad we did! In fact, we liked it so much, we went back a second time!

We lucked out both times, getting spots right up at the main bar area [on the left in the photo above]. We ordered a couple glasses of wine and fudged our way through ordering a few plates to share. My apologies for the picture quality.. tight quarters called for the easiest camera I could grab [my phone] and the fastest picture I could take!

Beef Carpaccio L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Beef carpaccio

Fried Chicken Frites L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Fried chicken & frites [Nathan’s fave!]

Cheese Fig Preserves L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Fabulous cheese & fig preserves

Chocolate Pot de Creme L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Chocolate pot de creme

Holy cow. It was absolutely amazing! I only stole a bite or two of the chicken because I know how much Nathan loves fried chicken. I stuck to the beef and cheese.. no complaints here! It was also one of the cheapest meals we had in Paris! All of the plus 2 glasses of wine for 29€. Seriously, we couldn’t even find lunch for that cheap!

Our second time back we were a bit more adventurous. We’d already filled up on a couple beers beforehand so we weren’t quite as hungry.

Andouille L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Andouille

Foie Gras L'Avant Comptoir Paris France

Foie gras

Neither of us ever had foie gras before but we saw someone order it the first time and I decided we had to give it a try. It was fantastic! It had a nice sear on it and was paired with roasted red pepper and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. If that’s what all foie gras tastes like, I could eat it all day long!

If Nathan and I make it back to Paris, I will definitely be stopping here again [whether he knows it or not!] It was not only some of my favorite food that we had on the honeymoon, it was also one [or two] of my favorite experiences. If you’re going to be traveling, hit up Mr. Bourdain for some tips. He knows his stuff!

Food for Thought

Are you a fan of Anthony Bourdain? Do you ever consider any of the traveling food shows when you go away?

Leave a Reply

