Guest Post: Powercakes Lemon Carrot Poppy Seed Cookies

It’s Friday!! And that means another Foodie Friday guest post. Today’s post is from Kasey at Powercakes.

Talk about inspirational, this girl is not too far out of college and is in the works of starting her own business (which I can’t wait to learn more about!) Over the past year or so, Kasey has teamed up with Heather for challenges that I’ve mentioned so many times before, like the plantPOWER challenge. These challenges have totally changed the way I look at food and how I eat and it’s something I could never thank these two ladies for enough! Kasey is also the creator of the amazing tahini nooch sauce that I eat all the time! Yum!

With that said, I’m so excited to share this fun recipe that Kasey created for Mother’s Day (aka my wedding day 😉 ). Hope you enjoy!


Hey everyone! My name is Kasey & I blog over at http://powercakes.net about healthy eating, fitness, & clean recipes! I am a certified personal trainer who is passionate about helping others & being true to myself! I embrace everyone for who they are and their choices they make. I think being different is beautiful! I have a passion for cooking & baking to correspond with my active lifestyle to properly fuel my fitness. I think it’s so important to enjoy foods & try to find a balance! If you’d like to follow me please check out my social media outlets so we can be in touch!

IMG_3597

Lemon Carrot Poppy Seed Cookies

[gluten free, egg free, dairy free, nut free, plant based, loaded with power]

Makes 12-14 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup grated carrots
  • 1 large banana
  • Zest & juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/3 cup poppy seeds
  • 1 + 1/2 cup buckwheat groat flour
    • [buckwheat groats blended to make flour]
    • You can sub flour of choice [oat flour, buckwheat flour, whole wheat flour]
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 2 TB Lucuma Powder [natural sweetness]
    • or sub 3-4 TB coconut sugar or sweetener of choice
    • Lucuma is an alternative sweetener that is packed with minerals and vitamins.
    • Great addition to recipes, smoothies, yogurt, milkshakes, or desserts!
  • 1 TB Maca Powder
    • optional [makes it creamy & adds more power]
  • 1/2 cup almond milk or milk of choice
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 + 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 15 drops of liquid stevia or stevia to taste

These can be enjoyed as single snack…

IMG_3587

OR you can stack some up & pretend they are powercakes Winking smile

I happen to think that pure maple syrup would be absolutely delish on these!

IMG_3589

Directions:

[preheat oven to 375 degrees]

1. Pulse the buckwheat groats in a good processor until flour consistency & add into a bowl.
IMG_3592

2. Add your wet ingredients [banana, milk, vanilla, lemon juice, lemon zest] into the processor & blend until creamy.

IMG_3596

3. Pour wet ingredients into a bowl & combine with all dry ingredients + grated carrots.

IMG_3593

4. The batter will be thick & absorb the liquid.

5. I used a small ice cream scoop to portion out the cookies & then flattened them down with the back of the scoop!

6. Bake on parchment paper or greased cookie sheet at 375 degrees for about 12-15 minutes until lightly browned.

7. Let cool & ENJOY!

IMG_3590

These were so delish with some nut butter spread on top or [peanut fluff]! I would bag two of them up & take them in my gym bag on to the go for a pre-workout snack!

___________________________________

I also wanted to give a special one year shout out to the boyfriend Corey!

IMG_3586


How cute are those two?! 😉 Thanks again to Kasey for sharing this delicious recipe and always being so #fitfluential!

Food for Thought

How would you eat your lemon carrot poppy seed cookies? I love the idea of spreading nut butter on top!

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Powercakes Lemon Carrot Poppy Seed Cookies

  1. Pingback: Feature Friday- Laura from @Gorgeousssleep! | Powercakes

Leave a Reply

