What I Ate Wednesday #41: My Bridal Shower!

I love “special editions” of WIAW and this week’s is definitely special. Sunday I started out my day at the opening day of the Baltimore Farmers’ Market where I enjoyed a fresh beet, carrot, apple juice [I’m obsessed now] and a coffee from Zeke’s [they’re famous around here!] After that I headed out to my bridal shower; it was incredible! My two aunts put the whole thing together and they did a wonderful job. There were 35 people there to celebrate with me [I couldn’t believe it!], my parent’s house was completely transformed, the food was delicious, and everyone had a great time. It was a success, for sure.

There were tons of pictures from that day [mostly very embarrassing faces while I’m opening gifts!] but I wanted to share some of my favorites with you.

Quinoa Caprese Tomato Mozzarella Pasta Sundried Chicken Salad Barr & Table Bridal Shower What I Ate Wednesday WIAW

On the Menu
– Mixed greens
– Fresh tomato, mozzarella, & basil salad
– Quinoa and pea salad [so good!]
– Sun dried tomato pasta salad
– Lemon herb chicken salad
– Chocolate kiss truffles


– Mini jeweled shortbread cookies
– Raspberry lemonade cupcakes

There was a serious spread and it was all homemade! I’ve been enjoying the leftovers for days.. definitely not complaining about that! All of the food was so light and fresh; I don’t know that I had one favorite in particular. I do have to say I’m usually not a chicken salad fan but this one was great. I’ll have to get the recipe 🙂

Barr & Table Bridal Shower Gifts What I Ate Wednesday WIAW

A little gift opening fun.. of course I super excited about my brand new Calphalon grill pan! Living in an apartment, one of the biggest disadvantages is not being able to grill. Hopefully this will help us get by a little easier. And check out my awesome bouquet! Can’t wait to use that for the rehearsal.. though I might skip the head piece 😉

I’m pretty sure this last picture was my “speech”. I’m so articulate and eloquent [and sarcastic..]

Barr & Table Bridal Shower What I Ate Wednesday WIAW

And finally, pictures with some of my favorite people. My mom, my friends, my bridesmaids, and of course, a picture with the Tone It Up girls. I’m so happy everyone was there to celebrate with me! It was such a fantastic whirlwind of a day and I’m so thankful for everyone that came and helped get it together!

And in case you need a little something sweet..

Chocolate Kiss Truffles

Makes 60 truffles

Ingredients
– 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
– 1/4 cup butter
– 1 14-oz can sweetened condensed milk
– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 60 unwrapped chocolate kisses or hugs
– 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
– 1 tsp vegetable oil

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°F. Melt chocolate and butter together over low heat until smooth. Add sweetened condensed milk and mix well. Remove from heat. Add vanilla, flour, and nuts and mix well.

Shape one tbsp of dough around each candy kiss. Place one inch apart on ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 7 minutes. Do not overbake!

Remove from cookie sheets and cool until firm to the touch. Melt white chocolate and oil together. Drizzle over cooled truffles.

Food for Thought

When was the last time you threw a party for someone? Did you make all of the food yourself or did you have it catered?

*Many thanks to Kate for letting me steal some pics! 😉

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #41: My Bridal Shower!

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Lemon Tarragon Chicken | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

