What I Ate Wednesday #35: Recent Favorites

This week hasn’t exactly been the most exciting in the kitchen, so I thought for this week’s What I Ate Wednesday, I would share some of my recent favorites that I’ve had. I’ve already shared my Valentine’s Day dinner and dessert [have you made those chocolate cups yet?!] and I figured I’d save you from another week of sweet breakfast scramble 😉

A couple weeks ago, Nathan and I ventured over to BonChon, a Korean restaurant in the area that we had yet to try. As I noted last week, we love Asian food so we were pretty psyched to go! I absolutely love beef bulgogi and had never tried Bibimbob before so there was no question as to what I was getting.

Bon Chon Beef Bulgogi Bibimbob Ellicott City Baltimore Maryland MD

Amazing. Seriously, I couldn’t have imagined it to be any better. The bottom of this hot pot [which was really hot!] was lightly lined with sticky rice that crisped up as it sat. Tons of veggies were loaded on top; picked carrots, daikon, green onion, mushrooms, etc. Finally it was topped with beef bulgogi and a single egg yolk that, once popped, cooked over the hot beef and coated everything. It was so good.. I wish I could go get one right now! I think I might have to make a trip this weekend.. Luckily for you, it’s a chain. Find one in your area and go!

Another recent favorite is, of course, brussels sprouts. I constantly wish I had an unlimited supply so I could eat them everyday. What’s with the bad rep that these delicious morsels get? I’ll never understand. Rather than roasting my sprouts, I decided to put a little spin on them and came up with a sweet and tangy twist. And how appropriate for the love your veggies month theme?

Cranberry Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Serves 4

Barr & Table Cranberry Balsamic Sauteed Brussels Sprouts Cashews

Ingredients
– 1 lb brussels sprouts
– 1/4 cup dried cranberries [dried cherries would be great too!]
– 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
– 1/2 tbsp EVOO
– Salt and pepper to taste

Optional Toppings
– Cashews or your favorite nut
– Unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions
Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Chop the ends off of the brussels sprouts and slice in half. Once the water is boiling, drop the sprouts in and cook for about 2 minutes. Drain completely and return the pot to a burner over medium heat. Add the EVOO to the pot and return the brussels sprouts back in.

Saute the brussels for a minute and then add in your balsamic vinegar and cranberries. Cook for a few more minutes, allowing the vinegar to caramelize the brussels sprouts. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Top with some nuts or coconut and enjoy!

Nutritional Information
Per 1/4 lb serving without toppings

100 Calories  /  2g Fat  /  19g Carbs  /  5g Fiber  /  8g Sugar  /  4g Protein

Food for Thought

What is your favorite vegetable?

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #35: Recent Favorites

    • My mom had never made them for me either. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I first tried them.. I would definitely recommend it!

      I love spinach too, I always throw it into everything 🙂

  1. Hi Brittany- So pleased to meet you ;p About brussels sprouts, oh man am I glad they came back into “fashion”; they’ve made an appearance at several dinner parties I’ve recently attended, which makes me one very happy bunny. I’ve tried so so many different brussels sprouts recipes out there, and yours will be next!! Perhaps my enthusiasm here answers your question about what my fave veggie is… You guessed it, BRUSSELS SPROUTS! Great post!

Leave a Reply

